5 Seconds of Summer announces ‘Calm’

Album available March 27th via Interscope Records

5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS) will release Calm – their fourth studio album and first for Interscope Records – on March 27th. Those who pre-order the project will receive a brand-new song “No Shame” in addition to the previously released singles, “Easier” and “Teeth.” Zane Lowe played the track earlier today (Wed, Feb 5th) on Apple Music’s Beats 1 Radio.

The album will be available in a variety of physical formats including standard CD, a deluxe fan box edition, and cassette. Also, there will be a Target deluxe edition available which will include an exclusive cover, poster and additional tracks: vault versions (reworked renditions of studio tracks for live performances) of previous singles “Easier” and “Teeth” and “No Shame.” In addition, the band re-launched their merch store with an array of merchandise and music products including a special edition box set.

“For a band to make it to four albums is no small feat in itself but to be reinventing and constantly pushing our songwriting and to come out with music that we’ve never been more proud of makes me so happy to be in 5 Seconds of Summer,” lead vocalist Luke Hemmings shares. “Calm speaks on a journey through a young man’s life, for better or for worse. We are all human and all make mistakes, sometimes we hurt the ones we love and inevitably, ourselves in the process. Calm leaves the band in a much happier, unified and calm state of mind to continue making albums for years to come.”

The band recently announced the North American leg of the No Shame 2020 Tour which will kick off with a trio of dates in Mexico. The first U.S. show will be on August 19th at Fillmore Auditorium in Denver, CO. The headline run includes concerts at Huntington Band Pavilion at Northerly Island in Chicago, IL (August 26th), Boston’s Rockland Trust Bank Pavilion (September 2nd) and FivePoint Amphitheatre in Irvine, CA (September 23rd). Tickets will go on sale to the general public this Friday, February 7th. Those who purchase a ticket will receive a physical copy of the album.

The band’s first single from Calm, “Easier,” landed a spot on Billboard’s list of the 100 Best Songs of 2019. Rolling Stone said of their follow up single; “‘Teeth’ culls from the same well of brooding, ominous industrial rock and nu-metal that inspired their Nine Inch Nails-inspired ‘Easier.’” They partnered with Tom Morello who solos on guitar throughout the entire song. The official video for “Teeth” has amassed over 36 million views on YouTube.

5SOS is the only band (not vocal group) in chart history to see its first three full-length studio albums enter the Billboard 200 at No. 1. Across their catalog, 5SOS has sold more than 9.6 million equivalent album units and sold over two million concert tickets worldwide, while cumulative streams of their songs now surpass seven billion.

The band – comprising Luke Hemmings (vocals/guitar), Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar), Calum Hood (vocals/bass) and Ashton Irwin (vocals/drums) – has been recognized with an array of prestigious accolades including an American Music Award, a People’s Choice Award, two iHeartRadio Music Awards, eight MTV European Music Awards, five ARIA Awards, two APRA and two MTV Video Music Awards.

1. Red Desert
2. No Shame
3. Old Me
4. Easier
5. Teeth
6. Wildflower
7. Best Years
8. Not In The Same Way
9. Lover Of Mine
10. Thin White Lies
11. Lonely Heart
12. High

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.