Alan Jackson to release ‘Precious Memories: Live at the Ryman’ DVD

Country music superstar Alan Jackson is scheduled to release a live DVD recording entitled Precious Memories, Live at the Ryman in conjunction with Gaither Music Group. Available everywhere on August 11th, the video features Jackson’s stage performances of songs from his first gospel recording, Precious Memories, originally released in 2006. RFD-TV will premiere a TV special surrounding the release tonight (August 10th) at 6:30 pm EST with encore airings across a variety of networks.

Recorded to honor his mother’s request that he release an album of gospel classics, the Precious Memories audio recording quickly made its way to the top of the sales charts and into the hearts of fans, selling over 1.8 million copies and earning a Platinum certification by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).

Taped at the historic Ryman, known as “The Mother Church of Country Music” in Nashville, TN, the DVD collection, produced by Martin Fischer and directed by James Burton Yockey, captures Jackson’s familiar, warm tones singing signature renditions of traditional hymns and gospel favorites. The DVD also includes behind-the-scenes interviews with him, his mother and his wife as he reflects on his musical roots.

“I grew up singing just about every one of these songs. And I love that sound, of that organ, and that music really stuck with me and, I’m sure, affected how I hear songs now and write songs, ‘cause a lot of those old songs are really pretty, simple melodies that stick with you,” Jackson says of the project. “These songs mean a lot to me. And I’m proud that Gaither is rereleasing the DVD. It was a very special moment to perform these songs at the Ryman with my mama in the audience.”

The Precious Memories DVD will be featured as part of a television special airing on DirecTV, Dish TV, RFD-TV, TBN, PBS, The Heartland Network, GaitherTV, FamilyNet, CTN, GMC, GMTN, Guardian, Liberty, TCT and TLN. It will air in Canada on Vision TV, CTS, The Miracle Channel and Hope TV. The video will be promoted via Gaither Music Group’s website, consumer catalog, digital assets, social media and YouTube channel.


  1. Blessed Assurance
  2. In the Garden
  3. I Love to Tell the Story
  4. Turn Your Eyes upon Jesus
  5. ‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus
  6. When We All Get to Heaven
  7. Softly and Tenderly (Bonus Track)
  8. Standing on the Promises (Bonus Track)
  9. Are You Washed in the Blood? / I’ll Fly Away
  10. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  11. Leaning on the Everlasting Arms
  12. The Old Rugged Cross
  13. How Great Thou Art
  14. I Want to Stroll over Heaven with You

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: