Apple Music to stream Dr. Dre’s “Compton” ahead of release date

Compton, the new album from Dr. Dre, will be available to stream in its entirety starting Thursday, August 6th at 6 pm PDT. For three hours, Apple Music will stream the explicit version of the 16 track album, featuring all new music by Dr. Dre, a day ahead of its August 7th release on Apple Music and iTunes. Following the stream, Zane Lowe will host a special show on Beats 1 at 9 pm PDT dedicated to the album.

Compton: A Soundtrack is the official Straight Outta Compton film soundtrack featuring all new music by Dre along with collaborations with Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg and more. Compton is Dr. Dre’s long-awaited follow up to 1999’s The Chronic: 2001. An album entitled Detox was set to follow his previous release, but Dre announced on his Beats 1 radio show, The Pharmacy, that he felt inspired by the film shoot to record new music secretly. “I was leaving the set…and I found myself being so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album. I kept it under wraps.”

At this time, Compton is only set to be released digitally through Apple Music and iTunes on August 7th. Straight Outta Compton, the true story about rap group N.W.A., is set to be released in theaters on August 14th.

Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Talk About It feat. King Mez & Justus
3. Genocide feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay
4. It’s All On Me feat. Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid
5. All In A Day’s Work feat. Anderson .Paak & Marsha Ambrosius
6. Darkside/Gone feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar
7. Loose Cannons feat. Xzibit & Cold 187um
8. Issues feat. Ice Cube & Anderson .Paak
9. Deep Water feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus
10. One Shot One Kill Jon Connor feat. Snoop Dogg
11. Just Another Day The Game feat. Asia Bryant
12. For The Love Of Money feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor
13. Satisfiction feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez
14. Animals feat. Anderson .Paak
15. Medicine Man feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson .Paak
16. Talking To My Diary

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.