Ashanti, Bruno Mars among 2021 Soul Train Awards performers

Highly anticipated show takes place Nov 28th

BET has announced the performers for the 2021 Soul Train Awards. Performers include the 2021 Soul Train Awards Legend Award honoree Maxwell, Lady of Soul honoree Ashanti, R&B super duo Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak as Silk Sonic, R&B/Soul songstress Ari Lennox, soul singer/songwriter and producer Leon Bridges, R&B singer Lucky Daye, and more. The event presented by BET premieres Sunday, November 28th at 8 pm ET/PT on BET and BET Her. Internationally, the show will simulcast on BET Africa at 2 am CAT on November 29th and air on BET France on December 1st at 10:30 pm CET. The show will also be available to watch on My5 and Sky On-Demand in the UK beginning December 3rd.

“Soul music is a movement, and we are incredibly proud to give it a platform and produce a performance line-up that will exemplify the best of the genre and reach generations of music lovers across the globe,” states Connie Orlando, EVP, Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy. “We could not be more thrilled for these exceptional artists to hit the stage at the historic World Famous Apollo, in celebration of fifty years of Soul Train. This will definitely be an iconic night to remember.”

The Soul Train Awards annual Soul Cypher is a tradition started by former show host Erykah Badu that features a group of artists freestyling. The cypher will bring together some of today’s top vocalists for what promises to be an electrifying performance. Participants in the cypher this year include D-Nice, Musiq Soulchild, Jac Ross, Koryn Hawthorne, Elle Varner, and Tone Stith. As a nod to the 20th Anniversary of her self-titled album Aaliyah, the late R&B great’s hit single “Rock the Boat” provides both theme and instrumental for the cypher.

Additionally, BET has also announced the first group of presenters include H.E.R., Tristan Mack Wilds, and the BET casts of Games People Play and Sacrifice, a BET+ Original series.

As previously announced, H.E.R. leads the nominations with an impressive eight nods for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, Song of the Year, Album of the Year, The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award (x2), Best Collaboration (x2), and Video of the Year. Jazmine Sullivan and Chris Brown garnered the second most nods with six nominations each with Wizkid and TEMS ranking third with five nods each, Blxst with four nods, and Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic, Doja Cat, and Yung Bleu each having three nods apiece.

Three-time GRAMMY award-winning singer-songwriter and producer Maxwell will receive the Legend Award. Award-winning and multi-platinum singer/songwriter, actor, entrepreneur, and author Ashanti will be the recipient of the Lady of Soul honor.

Dynamic best-friend duo Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will return as co-hosts, bringing their irreplaceable energy and hilarious comedic talents to this year’s show.

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11511