Atlanta Rhythm Section ‘The Polydor Years’ 8 CD collection detailed

New Box Set Presents ARS’ Eight Remastered Polydor Albums with Several Mono Mixes and Single Edits Making Their CD Release Debuts

On May 31st, Polydor/UMe will release Atlanta Rhythm Section: The Polydor Years, a new 8 CD box set collecting the band’s albums released by Polydor Records between 1974 and 1980. All eight albums have been newly remastered for the collection by Andy Pearce and Matt Wortham. The box set also includes 22 mono mixes and single edits – previously unreleased on CD — for several ARS hits and fan favorites.

The Polydor Years features the albums Third Annual Pipe Dream (plus five bonus tracks); Dog Days (plus one bonus track); Red Tape (plus two bonus tracks); A Rock and Roll Alternative (plus four bonus tracks); Champagne Jam (plus five bonus tracks); Underdog (plus four bonus tracks); Are You Ready?; and The Boys from Doraville (plus one bonus track). The CDs are housed in a clamshell box with an extensive booklet featuring new liner notes and detailed album annotations.

Formed in 1970 by former members of the Candymen and the Classics IV, Atlanta Rhythm Section (ARS) became the session band for Studio One recording studio in Doraville, Georgia, near Atlanta. While also playing on other artists’ recordings, ARS recorded its first two albums for Decca: 1972’s Atlanta Rhythm Section and 1973’s Back Up Against the Wall.

ARS’ first album with Polydor, Third Annual Pipe Dream, was released in 1974. It climbed to No. 74 on the Billboard 200 albums chart and gave the group its first hit, “Doraville,” which reached Billboard’s Top 40. “Angel” was also released as a single and reached No. 79. Dog Days was released in 1975, followed by Red Tape in April 1976. Its single, “Free Spirit,” peaked at No. 85.

Released in December 1976, A Rock and Roll Alternative peaked at No. 11 on the Billboard 200, fueled by the hit single “So Into You,” which reached No. 7 on the Billboard Hot 100. Two other singles from the album, “Georgia Rhythm” and “Neon Nites,” charted at No. 68 and No. 42, respectively.

Atlanta Rhythm Section’s success and fame were steadily building. Released in January 1978, the Champagne Jam album hit No. 7 on the Billboard 200 and was certified platinum. The album’s top single, “Imaginary Lover,” peaked at No. 7 on the Billboard Hot 100, while its title track and “I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonight” charted at No. 43 and No. 14, respectively. The album’s first track, “Large Time,” was ARS’ tribute to Lynyrd Skynyrd following the band’s tragic plane crash in October 1977.

Atlanta Rhythm Section and Lynyrd Skynyrd had been tagged as successors to the Allman Brothers Band, carrying the Southern rock mantle. With broader musical influences and hits of a softer pop style, ARS considered the Southern rock label a mixed blessing. They opened U.S. concerts for The Rolling Stones and The Who, and in June 1978, they performed at the U.K.’s Knebworth Festival, sharing the bill with Genesis, Jefferson Starship, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, and other top acts. That September, ARS staged their own “Champagne Jam” festival in Atlanta, which also featured Santana, the Doobie Brothers, and Eddie Money, among others.

Released in June 1979, Underdog reached No. 26 on the Billboard 200 and was quickly certified gold by the RIAA. The album had two Top 20 Billboard singles: “Do It or Die” (No. 19) and “Spooky” (No. 17), a re-recording of the Classics IV’s No. 3 hit from 1968. ARS recorded a live performance at Studio One for their double LP, Are You Ready?, released in October 1979. The album features performances of the band’s top hits and other popular tracks, including the fan favorite “Another Man’s Woman.” Atlanta Rhythm Section’s final album with Polydor, The Boys From Doraville, was released in August 1980. In the years since, ARS has released six more albums and they continue to perform live.

8 CD

Third Annual Pipe Dream

1. Doraville
2. Jesus Hearted People
3. Close the Door
4. Blues in Maude’s Flat
5. Join the Race
6. Angel (What in The World’s Come Over Us)
7. Get Your Head Out of Your Heart
8. The War Is Over
9. Help Yourself
10. Who You Gonna Run To
11. Angel (What in The World’s Come Over Us) – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
12. Angel (What in The World’s Come Over Us) – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
13. Doraville – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
14. Doraville – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
15. Get Your Head Out of Your Heart – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]

Dog Days

1. Crazy
2. Boogie Smoogie
3. Cuban Crisis
4. It Just Ain’t Your Moon
5. Dog Days
6. Bless My Soul (Instrumental)
7. Silent Treatment
8. All Night Rain
9. Crazy – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]

Red Tape

1. Jukin
2. Mixed Emotions
3. Shanghied
4. Police! Police!
5. Beautiful Dreamer
6. Oh, What A Feeling
7. Free Spirit
8. Another Man’s Woman
9. Free Spirit – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
10. Jukin – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]

A Rock and Roll Alternative

1. Sky High
2. Hitch-Hikers’ Hero
3. Don’t Miss the Message
4. Georgia Rhythm
5. So Into You
6. Outside Woman Blues
7. Everybody Gotta Go
8. Neon Nites
9. So Into You – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
10. So Into You – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
11. Neon Nites – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
12. Neon Nites – Single Edit [Bonus Track]

Champagne Jam

1. Large Time
2. I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonight
3. Normal Love
4. Champagne Jam
5. Imaginary Lover
6. The Ballad of Lois Malone
7. The Great Escape
8. Evileen
9. Champagne Jam – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
10. Imaginary Lover – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
11. Imaginary Lover – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
12. I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonight – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
13. I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonight – Single Edit [Bonus Track]


1. Do It or Die
2. Born Ready
3. I Hate the Blues / Let’s Go Get Stoned
4. Indigo Passion
5. While Time Is Left
6. It’s Only Music
7. Spooky
8. My Song
9. Indigo Passion – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
10. Large Time – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
11. Back Up Against the Wall – Single Edit [Bonus Track]
12. Spooky – Single Edit [Bonus Track]

Are You Ready?

1. Sky High
2. Champagne Jam
3. I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonight
4. Large Time
5. Back Up Against the Wall
6. Angel (What in The World’s Come Over Us)
7. Conversation
8. Imaginary Lover
9. Doraville
10. Another Man’s Woman
11. Georgia Rhythm
12. So Into You
13. Long Tall Sally

The Boys from Doraville

1. Cocaine Charlie
2. Next Year’s Rock & Roll
3. I Ain’t Much
4. Putting My Faith in Love
5. Rough at The Edges
6. Silver Eagle
7. Pedestal
8. Try My Love
9. Strictly R & R
10. I Ain’t Much – Single Edit [Bonus Track]

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.