AXS TV announces Joe Satriani documentary premiere date

The Film is Directed by Satriani’s Son, ZZ

AXS TV, the premier destination for classic rock programming, takes viewers on an unforgettable journey with one of rock’s greatest guitar gurus in the broadcast premiere of the 2017 documentary Joe Satriani: Beyond The Supernova, airing on Tuesday, March 6th at 10 pm ET/7 pm PT.

Directed by Satriani’s talented filmmaker son, ZZ Satriani, Beyond The Supernova is a deeply personal introspective that captures the legendary virtuoso at a pivotal point as he contemplates the future of his career, 30 years after the release of his groundbreaking multi-platinum masterpiece Surfing With The Alien. Traveling throughout Asia and Europe on his acclaimed “Surfing To Shockwave World Tour,” Satriani reflects on his legacy and plots his next steps, while performing music from his landmark 15th studio album, Shockwave Supernova, and giving viewers a unique glimpse into the autobiographical elements of the record and its role in helping him determine the creative direction that he is heading towards. In addition to Satriani, Beyond The Supernova features appearances and performances by former Frank Zappa guitarist Mike Keneally, versatile bassist Bryan Beller, and prolific percussionist Marco Minnemann, as well as special cameos by fellow guitar masterminds Steve Vai and Guthrie Govan. The film received high praise from critics and fans when it was highlighted last October at the Mill Valley Film Festival.

Encore broadcasts of Joe Satriani: Beyond The Supernova will air immediately following the premiere on March 6th at 12 am ET/9 pm PT, and again on Sunday, March 11th at noon ET/9 am ET.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.