Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

AXS TV pays tribute to Chris Cornell

The Sound Off episode with Cornell airs this weekend

AXS TV remembers the life and legacy of rock legend Chris Cornell with a special presentation of the profile doc Sound Off With Matt Pinfield: Chris Cornell airing Saturday, May 20th at 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, with encores on Sunday, May 21st at 9 am ET/6 am PT and Monday, May 22nd at 11:30 pm ET/8:30 pm PT. As an accomplished singer, songwriter, and guitarist, Cornell cemented his place in music history as a key part of Seattle’s revolutionary rock scene in the 1990s, redefining the sound of a generation with his GRAMMY-winning band Soundgarden.

Cornell would go on to enjoy a highly successful run with the acclaimed supergroup Audioslave, Temple of the Dog with members of Pearl Jam, as well as a celebrated solo career. He passed away early Thursday (May 18th) morning at the age of 52 from a suicide in a Detroit hotel while on tour with Soundgarden.

The Sound Off episode is hosted by rock guru Matt Pinfield, and gives viewers unique insight into the story of who Cornell was as an artist, as told in his own words. During the candid interview, Cornell sits down to discuss his groundbreaking career as front man of the influential rock giants Soundgarden and Audioslave, and the creative process behind his second solo album Carry On, which was released in June of that year.

AXS TV is available in the United States via AT&T U-verse, Charter/Spectrum TV, Comcast/Xfinity, DIRECTV, DIRECTV NOW, DISH, Frontier, Sling TV, Altice/Suddenlink, Time Warner Cable/Spectrum TV, Verizon FiOS, and other cable, satellite and telco providers, including members of the National Cable Television Cooperative. The network is also distributed in Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Check local listings.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Comments

comments