AXS TV pays tribute to Tom Petty

AXS TV will air THE COMPREHENSIVE CONCERT EXPERIENCE TOM PETTY – LIVE FROM GATORVILLE

AXS TV, the premier destination for classic rock programming, celebrates the tremendous life and legacy of groundbreaking rock icon Tom Petty with a special presentation tonight (Tues, Oct 3rd) of the concert film Tom Petty – Live From Gatorville at 5 pm ET/2 pm PT with an encore broadcast on Friday, October 20th at 11 am ET/8 am PT; as well as the profile piece Rock Legends: Tom Petty on Friday, October 20th at 8:30 am ET/5:30 am PT, with an encore broadcast that same day at 2:10 pm ET/11:10 am PT.

With his signature vocals, honest lyrics, and timeless songs, Tom Petty has forever solidified himself as one of music’s greatest artists. Enjoying an unprecedented 40 year career, Petty — with his band The Heartbreakers — helped redefine the rock scene for generations to come, on the strength of beloved classics such as “American Girl,” “Free Fallin’,” “Yer So Bad,” and “I Won’t Back Down,” en route to earning three Grammy Awards and a place in the prestigious Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in 2002. Petty passed away yesterday (Mon, Oct 2nd) at the age of 66, at a Santa Monica hospital after being found unconscious at his Malibu home earlier in the day.

The acclaimed 2013 concert film Tom Petty – Live From Gatorville finds the beloved artist returning to his hometown of Gainesville, FL for an emotional and highly-energetic evening, blazing through a career-spanning two hour set that features Heartbreaker favorites, solo tunes, and a selection of tracks from Petty’s work with his first band Mudcrutch and the supergroup The Traveling Wilburys; topped by an unforgettable guest appearance by soulful rock songstress Stevie Nicks. Highlights include performances of “Runnin’ Down A Dream,” “Don’t Come Around Here No More,” “Southern Accent” played live for the first time since 1993, and the Nicks duets “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” and “I Need To Know,” among many others.

Then, Rock Legends: Tom Petty takes viewers on a fully immersive journey through Petty’s brilliant career as top music experts discuss his songwriting, style, and influence in this special profile that compiles rare archive footage and performances to paint a vivid picture of the man behind the music, headlined by an eye-opening interview with the icon, himself, as he discusses the creative process behind some of his greatest works.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Comments

comments