AXS TV set to premiere ‘Queen Live in Budapest’

The concert was filmed in 1986 in Hungary, Budapest

AXS TV is set to present one of Queen’s groundbreaking most legendary performances in the premiere of the 2012 concert film Hungarian Rhapsody: Queen Live In Budapest on Sunday, June 4th at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT.

Originally filmed live on July 27, 1986, at the Népstadion in Budapest, Hungarian Rhapsody finds the British rock gods at the top of their game on their landmark Magic Tour, making history as the first Western rock band to perform in a stadium behind the Iron Curtain. Playing in front of a roaring crowd of 80,000 people, the band pulls out all the stops in a hit-packed set featuring timeless favorites such as “Under Pressure,” “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “We Will Rock You,” “I Want To Break Free,” and many more. In addition to being the biggest stadium concert of all time, the evening also held a great deal of cultural significance for the Hungarian people, driving government officials to compile the country’s top cameramen and technicians to document the unforgettable occasion. The footage would ultimately prove invaluable, as it captured dynamic front man Freddie Mercury at his peak in what would sadly be his last tour with the band before passing away five years later.

Then, on Wednesday, June 7th at 9 pm ET/6 pm PT, AXS TV gives viewers an in-depth look at the creative process behind one of the band’s most important records in the premiere of the 2005 documentary Classic Albums: Queen: A Night At The Opera, featuring rare archive footage of Freddie Mercury, as well as exclusive interviews with members Brian May and Roger Taylor, and fellow rock legends Joe Perry, Nuno Bettencourt, and Ian Hunter, among others. An encore performance of Hungarian Rhapsody follows at 10 pm ET/7 pm PT.

AXS TV is available in the United States via AT&T U-verse, Charter/Spectrum TV, Comcast/Xfinity, DIRECTV, DIRECTV NOW, DISH, Frontier, Sling TV, Altice/Suddenlink, Time Warner Cable/Spectrum TV, Verizon FiOS, and other cable, satellite and telco providers, including members of the National Cable Television Cooperative. The network is also distributed in Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Check local listings.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Comments

comments