The B-52’s announce ‘Cosmic Thing’ 30th anniversary expanded edition

2 CD collection includes newly remastered original album with remixes and unreleased live show

The B-52’s soared in 1989, propelled by the band’s first Top 10 hits “Love Shack” and “Roam.” They were breakthrough singles from the Athens, Georgia-based group’s fifth studio release, Cosmic Thing. That record reached No. 3 on the Billboard Album Chart, sold more than four million copies in the U.S., and burnished the B-52’s reputation as the World’s Greatest Party Band.

It will be the 30th anniversary of Cosmic Thing this summer and the B-52’s are taking the party on the road with an extensive tour of Europe and the U.S. (see below for dates). Also, Rhino will introduce an anniversary edition of the album that features newly remastered sound, B-sides, remixes and unreleased concert recordings from the 1990’s Cosmic Tour.

On June 28th – one day after the album’s official 30th anniversary – Rhino will release Cosmic Thing: 30th Anniversary Expanded Edition. The two disc set is accompanied by a booklet that includes liner notes from journalist and author T. Cole Rachel, song lyrics, and unseen photos of the band from that time period. The music will be available on the same day through digital download and streaming services.

The Cosmic Thing anniversary edition opens with a newly remastered version of the original album, which was recorded by Fred Schneider, Kate Pierson, Cindy Wilson and Keith Strickland, and co-produced by Nile Rodgers and Don Was. Along with the original album, the two disc set also includes five newly remastered bonus tracks that spotlight B-sides and remixes like “B-52’s Megamix” and “Roam” (Extended Remix).

The collection’s second disc is an unreleased live album that captures the B-52’s performing live in Texas in August 1990 during the band’s Cosmic Tour. The performance includes seven songs from Cosmic Thing along with several other B-52’s classics such as “Rock Lobster” and “Dance This Mess Around” from the group’s 1979 self-titled debut; and “Private Idaho” and “Give Me Back My Man” from 1980’s Wild Planet.

All songs were recorded during the band’s August 4th show at The Pavillion in The Woodlands, Texas except for “Whammy Kiss,” which was recorded the previous night during the band’s show in Dallas.

2 CD

CD 1: Newly Remastered Original Album

1. Cosmic Thing
2. Dry County
3. Deadbeat Club
4. Love Shack
5. Junebug
6. Roam
7. Bushfire
8. Channel Z
9. Topaz
10. Follow Your Bliss
11. B-52’s Megamix
12. Love Shack (Edit)
13. Channel Z (Rock Mix)
14. Roam (Extended Remix)
15. Roam (12″ Remix)

CD 2: Cosmic Tour: Live In Texas, 1990

1. Cosmic Thing
2. Bushfire
3. Quiche Lorraine
4. Dance This Mess Around
5. Dry County
6. Private Idaho
7. Give Me Back My Man
8. Deadbeat Club
9. Mesopotamia
10. Strobe Light
11. Roam
12. 52 Girls
13. Love Shack
14. Rock Lobster
15. Whammy Kiss
16. Channel Z

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.