Billy Currington scores 10th number one with ‘Don’t It’

Platinum-selling recording artist Billy Currington scores his 10th No. 1 hit with “Don’t It” topping both the Billboard and Mediabase charts. The smash hit, written by Jaren Johnston, Ashley Gorley and Ross Copperman, is the lead single off Currington’s sixth studio album, Summer Forever, releasing on June 2nd on Mercury Nashville.

With the rise of “Don’t It,” Currington joins a rank few current country artists have achieved with ten No. 1 singles. His series of iconic chart-toppers includes “Must Be Doin’ Something Right,” “Good Directions,” “Don’t,” “People Are Crazy,” “That’s How Country Boys Roll,” “Pretty Good At Drinkin’ Beer,” “Let Me Down Easy,” “Hey Girl,” “We Are Tonight” and “Don’t It.”

Currington’s next single off Summer Forever, “Drinkin’ Town With A Football Problem”, will ship to country radio on June 1st. The fall anthem, written by country group The Henningsens, captures the energy and dynamic of football season in a small town.

“Ever since I first visited Nashville as a young kid, I’ve dreamed of making country music,” shares Currington. “Recording six albums and having ten No. 1s is an amazing feeling. I’m so appreciative of the support from the fans to everyone it has taken to accomplish this. I wake up every day grateful I still get to chase this dream and can’t wait to hit the road this summer to play some new music!”

Currington will celebrate the release of Summer Forever with performances on The Today Show on June 2nd and Fox & Friends “All-American Summer Concert Series” on June 12th. On June 5th, Currington kicks off the cross-country Shotgun Rider Tour with Tim McGraw in Little Rock, AR.

Recorded in Nashville, TN with acclaimed producer Dann Huff, Summer Forever features 12 tracks including “It Don’t Hurt Like It Used To” written by Currington, Cary Barlowe and Shy Carter. In addition to Barlowe and Carter, Currington recruited an all-star lineup of songwriters for the project including Zach Crowell, Hillary Lindsey, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Cole Swindell, Florida Georgia Line and Jimmy Robbins.


Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.