‘Billy Joel: Live At Yankee Stadium’ gets 4K upgrade

Re-mixed & re-edited 1990 concert features new music & interviews

In celebration of 50 years of Billy Joel, one of the most iconic concert films of all time, Live At Yankee Stadium, is coming to cinemas for a special two-night global fan event. Shot live on 16mm color film on June 22 and 23, 1990, at the iconic Bronx stadium, the original concert has been re-edited in stunning 4K with Dolby ATMOS audio and newly mixed from the original multi-track tapes by Jay Vicari and overseen by Joel’s long time sound engineer Brian Ruggle. The new version includes a never-before-released performance of “Uptown Girl,” interviews with Billy Joel, and behind-the-scenes footage from the event’s production. The hit-filled set list also includes “Piano Man,” “We Didn’t Start The Fire,” “New York State Of Mind,” “Scenes From An Italian Restaurant,” “Shout,” and more.

Presented by Trafalgar Releasing and Sony Music Entertainment’s Premium Content division on Wednesday, October 5th and Sunday, October 9th, tickets for Live At Yankee Stadium go on sale on Wednesday, August 10th at 10 am EDT at BillyJoel.Film.

Columbia Records and Legacy Recordings will release Billy Joel Live at Yankee Stadium digitally as well as a 2 CD/Blu-ray combo and 3 LP sets on November 4th. The new editions contain 22 performances from Joel’s historic two-day run at The House That Ruth Built and features 11 completely unreleased performances, including “Uptown Girl,” “Only The Good Die Young,” “Allentown” and more.

New York’s quintessential son, Billy Joel, ranks as one of the most popular recording artists and respected entertainers in history. The singer/songwriter/composer is the sixth best-selling recording artist of all time, the third best-selling solo artist as well as one of the biggest concert draws in the world. Joel’s songs have acted as personal and cultural touchstones for millions of people across five decades.

Having sold 160 million records over the past quarter century, the hits have continued for almost five decades, scoring 33 consecutive Top 40 hits. Joel has received the RIAA’s Diamond Award twice for Greatest Hits Volume I & Volume II and The Stranger, presented for albums that have sold over 10 million copies. He is the recipient of 23 GRAMMY nominations and six GRAMMY Awards, including the prestigious Grammy Legend Award. Joel has been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame, and has received numerous awards including a TONY Award for “Movin’ Out,” The Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song, the once-in-a-century ASCAP Centennial Award. Additionally, he is a Kennedy Center honoree and has received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

2 CD/Blu-ray | 3 LP

CD 1:

  1. Storm Front
  2. Allentown
  3. Prelude/Angry Young Man
  4. I Go To Extremes
  5. New York State Of Mind
  6. The Downeaster ‘Alexa’
  7. My Life
  8. Shameless
  9. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant
  10. Pressure
  11. Miami 2017 (I’ve Seen The Lights Go Out On Broadway)
  12. Uptown Girl

CD 2:

  1. We Didn’t Start The Fire
  2. A Matter Of Trust
  3. Only The Good Die Young
  4. That’s Not Her Style
  5. Big Shot
  6. Goodnight Saigon
  7. It’s Still Rock And Roll To Me
  8. An Innocent Man
  9. You May Be Right
  10. Piano Man

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com

Articles: 14218