Black Stone Cherry announces eighth studio album

Screamin’ At The Sky is due September 29th

Black Stone Cherry has detailed their eighth studio album, Screamin’ At The Sky, set for release on Friday, September 29th via Mascot Records. The opus will be available on white solid vinyl, limited edition vinyl box set, CD and digitally. The vinyl box set is limited to 1,000 copies and contains the album on marble vinyl and picture disc, black and white album sleeve with coloring pencils, autographed cards of all four members, poster and slipmat.

In celebration, the band has revealed “Nervous” with an accompanying official music video. Earlier this year, the group released the album’s lead single, “Out of Pocket,” which went on to be a crowd favorite on the band’s recent shows.

The Kentucky-based band, featuring Chris Robertson on lead vocals and guitar, Ben Wells on guitar and backing vocals and drummer John-Fred Young, are joined for the first time on an album recording by “new” bassist, Steve Jewell Jr. The band’s fanbase will be more than familiar with Steve, as he joined Black Stone Cherry in 2021.

“Filming the video for ‘Nervous’ was an amazing experience,” the band shares. “Like being on a movie set! We spent the day in an old paint factory-turned-production studio that had all of these amazing sets for TV and movies. The actor, Mateo Palmitier, did an AMAZING job as the lead character and it was such a cool experience seeing all of these visions come to life thanks to our director, Kyle Loftus and his incredible team. We love how the video will go between our performance, a great story line, and some killer visuals!”

Screamin’ At The Sky features all-new material written collaboratively while on tour, but when it came time to record, BSC decided to try something it’s always dreamed of doing: tracking an album at The Plaza Theater in Glasgow, Kentucky – a legendary 1020-seat venue built in 1934 that boasts meticulous acoustics. “Every time we played the Plaza we wondered what it would sound like to record drums there. We finally decided to put all our eggs in one basket,” Chris says. In June of 2022, the band rented the whole place, brought in all its recording equipment and its trusty engineer, Jordan Westfall. They set up the basement as the control room and the stage as the live drum room. Time between recording sessions and incredible room ambience have resulted in a career high watermark for BSC. The 12-song collection was self-produced by the band.

The band’s last album, The Human Condition, released in October 2020 was their sixth consecutive No. 1 debut on the UK Rock Albums chart. The album’s lead single, “Again” was the band’s biggest single in over 10 years in America, peaking at No. 15, and their highest charting record ever in Canada, landing in the Top 15. The album racked-up 50 million streams worldwide. Over the years, BSC has both headlined and rocked 12,000-cap arena shows and shared the stage with a wide range of superstars, including Alter Bridge, Def Leppard, Gov’t Mule, Nickelback, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Bad Company, Mötorhead, Halestorm, Stone Temple Pilots, The Darkness, and ZZ Top. In 2018, BSC performed in front of 100,000 people at the Download Festival as main support to Guns N’ Roses and in 2021, the band played the venerated Royal Albert Hall, immortalized on 2022’s live DVD Live From The Royal Albert Hall…Y’All.

Plans are afoot for more dates later this year.

1. Out Of Pocket
2. Screamin’ At The Sky
3. Nervous
4. When The Pain Comes
5. Show Me What It Feels Like
6. R.O.A.R.
7. Smile, World
8. The Mess You Made
9. Who Are You Today?
10. Not Afraid
11. Here’s To The Hopeless
12. You Can Have It All

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: