Blue Man Group announce ‘Three’ for April 22nd

Blue Man Group will release their third studio album, Three, on April 22nd, featuring 14 new instrumental tracks.

One of many exciting new projects in 2016, Blue Man Group’s Three will be available from Rhino on CD as well as digitally. “Giacometti,” the first single from the new album, is available now as an instant download when pre-ordering Three from participating digital retailers or can be purchased separately. A dynamic new video for the song, featuring the latest Blue Man Group instruments and technology can be viewed below.

Three is a modern snapshot, capturing a moment in the constantly expanding world of the Blue Man Group. Building upon their previous studio albums, including the gold-certified, Grammy-nominated Audio (1999), and sophomore concept album The Complex (2003), Three draws inspiration from 25 years of creative growth and development.

The instrumental music features exciting sonic explorations from a wide array of newly developed instruments including the Snorkelbone, a creation that utilizes a plastic hose to produce a whirring, pulsating tone when swung in the air; a PVC pipe take on the traditionally wooden aboriginal instrument, the Didgeridoo; and the Chimeulum, which is best described as “orchestral chimes on steroids”; and many more.

These new sounds join the clear influences from the group’s constantly evolving, legendary live show, as well as unique Blue Man performances at events like Brazil’s Carnaval, Coachella and the Summersonic Festival in Tokyo.

Tribal drumming, soaring melodies and resonating elements of EDM are evident throughout the album. Collaborations with the likes of Brazilian percussionist Marivaldo Dos Santos (“Hex Suit” and “Torus”), Super Natsuki Tamura on Sliding didgeridoo (“Giacometti”), DJ Mike Relm (“3 to 1”) and Yusuke Yamamoto on vibraphone (“Hex Suit” and “Robots”) showcase an enthusiastic addition to the sonic palette of the Blue Man Group.


Track Listing:

1. Dispatches 1
2. The Forge
3. Hex Suit
4. 3 To 1
5. Alive
6. Snorkelbone
7. Cimbalom 9
8. Robots
9. Creature Feature
10. Vortex
11. The Hum Drum
12. Dispatches 2
13. Giacometti
14. Torus

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.