Bob Seger announces ‘I Knew You When’ for Nov 17th

Bob Seger will release his 18th studio album, I Knew You When, on Friday, November 17th via Capitol Records. The album, recorded in Nashville and Detroit, will be available on CD, Deluxe CD and LP.

The new set features Seger’s tribute to Lou Reed, a rockin’ cover of Reed’s “Busload of Faith,” which fans can stream on select services and download now with their digital preorder. Seger also includes tributes to his friend Glenn Frey, in the heartfelt self-penned “Glenn Song,” and to Leonard Cohen with a timely cover of Cohen’s “Democracy.” Seger dedicates the album to the memory of Glenn Frey.

I Knew You When also features the reflective title track, uptempo rockers “The Highway,” “Runaway Train” and “Blue Ridge,” an ode to the history and beauty of the Appalachian Mountains, and the passionate guitar driven ballad, “I’ll Remember You.”

The project is Seger’s first new studio album since his 2014 release Ride Out, which was Seger’s highest charting debut entering Billboard’s Top 200 Albums at No. 3 and Billboard’s Rock Albums chart at No. 1. The standard version of the album contains ten songs and will be available on 130-gram vinyl and CD. The deluxe version of the album features 13 songs and will be available on CD, digital download and via select streaming services.

For a limited time, fans can pick up the album as part of specially priced premium bundles available exclusively on

With the new album Seger and Capitol mark their 49th year, extending Seger’s record as the longest tenured solo artist in the storied label’s history. Seger has been inducted in both the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame and was honored with Billboard’s “Legend of Live” award at the 12th annual Billboard Touring Conference & Awards in 2015 for his significant and lasting impact on the touring industry.

Deluxe CD | CD | LP

  1. Gracile
  2. Busload of Faith
  3. The Highway
  4. I Knew You When
  5. I’ll Remember You
  6. The Sea Inside
  7. Marie
  8. Runaway Train
  9. Something More
  10. Democracy
  11. Forward Into The Past (Deluxe Edition)
  12. Blue Ridge (Deluxe Edition)
  13. Glenn Song (Deluxe Edition)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.