Bobbie Gentry ‘Girl From Chickasaw County’ gets Capitol Masters edition

New CD and LP editions due Aug 25th

Following on from the huge success of 2018’s now sold out Girl From Chickasaw County Box Set, Bobbie Gentry is the subject of a new 2 LP, 2 CD and digital release on August 5th.

Once again compiled and produced by Andrew Batt, Highlights From The Capitol Masters aims to be the ultimate “all killer, no filler” Bobbie Gentry 2 CD and 2 LP compilation drawn from all of Gentry’s studio albums supplemented by the cream of the previously unreleased recordings including tracks from her “lost” jazz album The Windows Of The World that was a standout vinyl release of RSD 2021, the deluxe edition of her classic album The Delta Sweete other outtakes, demos, rarities and live performances taken from her celebrated TV series for the BBC.

Other pick outs include the classic original of “Ode To Billie Joe,” alternative versions of “Mississippi Delta,” “Touch Em’ With Love” and the classy Glen Campbell duet “Let It Be Me,” “Mornin’ Glory” from The Delta Sweete, her definitive “Hushabye Mountain,” pop soul triumph “Fancy,” and the melancholy “Lookin In” from her final album.

In addition, there are exceptional acoustic demos of originals like “Hurry Tuesday Child” and “Seasons Come, Seasons Go” new songs that never came out like “Smoke” and “Joanne” alongside essential covers of “Conspiracy of Homer Jones” and “God Bless The Child.” For the hardcore collector, a number of the recordings have been remixed from the multi-tracks especially for this release including “Caskette Vignette” and “Recollection.”

Highlights From The Capitol Masters reprises the specially commissioned boxset cover illustration by David Downton and the artwork also includes many of the rare and unseen photos included in the previously released 8 CD boxset. Bobbie Gentry’s career blazed brightly for a few short years, but only now is the full extent of her artistry coming into focus. The mystery of her disappearance detracts from her narrative as a self-made woman who strove for financial and creative independence. When we think of empowered female stars we think of Taylor Swift, Beyoncé, Madonna, or even Dolly Parton, but before all of them there came the girl from Chickasaw County. This impeccably curated new set reminds us once again just how special an artist she was.

CD 1:

1. Ode to Billie Joe
2. I Saw an Angel Die
3. Chickasaw County Child
4. Sunday Best [alternate take]
5. Hurry, Tuesday Child [demo]
6. Niki Hokey / Barefootin’ [Live on the BBC]
7. Mississippi Delta [alternate version]
8. The Seventh Son [Band version]
9. Okolona River Bottom Band
10. Mornin’ Glory
11. Jessye’ Lisabeth
12. Refractions
13. Courtyard
14. Feelin’ Good [demo]
15. Sweete Peony [alternate Version]
16. Casket Vignette
17. Recollection
18. Eleanor Rigby
19. Sittin’ Pretty
20. Hushabye Mountain
21. The Conspiracy of Homer Jones
22. Sunday Mornin’ [alternate version]
23. Let It Be Me (duet with Glen Campbell) [without strings]

CD 2:

1. Suppertime
2. God Bless The Child
3. This Girl’s In Love With You
4. Touch ‘Em with Love [stereo version]
5. Greyhound Goin’ Somewhere
6. Seasons Come, Seasons Go [demo]
7. Glory Hallelujah, How They’ll Sing [alternate take]
8. Fancy
9. Find ‘Em, Fool ‘Em and Forget ‘Em
10. He Made A Woman Out of Me
11. Rainmaker
12. Circle ‘Round the Sun
13. Apartment 21 [Stereo 7” version]
14. Billy the Kid [Live on the BBC]
15. Benjamin
16. But I Can’t Get Back
17. Belinda [acoustic version]
18. Mean Stepmama Blues
19. Lookin’ In
20. Smoke
21. Joanne
22. You And Me Together
23. The Girl from Cincinnati

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 13675