Brad Paisley goes rogue with ‘Moonshine In The Trunk’ teasers

Brad Paisley is currently Top 5 and climbing at country radio with his hot summertime smash, “River Bank,” the debut single from his August 25th album release, Moonshine in the Trunk. The album, co-produced by Paisley and Luke Wooten, sports a 14-song track listing (below) with 13 songs written or co-written by Paisley.

With the album release less than a month away, Paisley decided to have some fun with his fans (and his record label!) with a succession of weekend tweets and song previews from @BradPaisley that began with the message, “I’m going rogue. The label doesn’t know I’m doing this. Seriously. But I made a Moonshine Preview teaser. Don’t tell,” and continued through the weekend with more music previews and more commentary from Paisley, including, “I really do love my record label. Especially for puttin’ up with my $h@t. But I love ya’ll even more. Ha! Priorities,” and “Someone just asked if the label really didn’t know I was gonna post this clip tonight. They really & truly didn’t know.”

In response to the flurry of unplanned mischief, Gary Overton, Chairman & CEO of Sony Music Nashville, home to Paisley’s record label, Arista Nashville, shared with a smile, “Working with Brad is like riding a roller coaster: you know you’re going to scream, smile and have a wild ride…and it’s generally safe.”

On Monday, the homepage of featured a preview snippet of album opener “Crushin’ It,” as well as coverage of Paisley’s “sneak tweets” of some of the album.


1. Crushin’ It
2. River Bank
3. Perfect Storm
4. High Life
5. Moonshine in the Trunk
6. Shattered Glass
7. Limes
8. You Shouldn’t Have To
9. 4WP (feat. Brad Paisley)
10. Cover Girl
11. Gone Green
12. JFK 1962
13. American Flag on the Moon
14. Country Nation

In addition to seeing Paisley as part of the expert panel on ABC’s new Sunday night hit, Rising Star, fans can see him and many more country favorites this coming Tuesday, August 5th on the all-new special, CMA Music Festival: Country’s Night to Rock, airing at 8 pm ET on ABC.

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.