Buffalo Springfield albums remastered box set

All three of Buffalo Springfield’s albums have been remastered for a new box set called What’s That Sound? The Complete Albums Collection, due June 29th via Rhino Records on 5 CDs and 5 LPs. The three albums — Buffalo Springfield, Buffalo Springfield Again, and Last Time Around — have been newly remastered from the original analog tapes under the auspices of Neil Young for the new set.

The set includes stereo mixes of all three albums, plus mono mixes for Buffalo Springfield and Buffalo Springfield Again. High resolution streaming and downloads will be available through neilyoungarchives.com.

This will be the first time ever the albums will be available on 180-gram vinyl as part of the box set, limited to 5,000 copies. The 5 LP box features the same mono and stereo mixes as the CD set, presented in sleeves and gatefolds that faithfully re-create the original releases.

Stephen Stills, Neil Young, Richie Furay, Bruce Palmer and Dewey Martin played their first show together as Buffalo Springfield in 1966. The same year, the band recorded and released its self-titled debut, which included the iconic protest song, “For What It’s Worth,” featuring lyrics as poignant now as they were then, in addition to standouts like “Burned,” “Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It,” and the band’s first single, “Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing.”

The group spent the first half of 1967 making Buffalo Springfield Again, which was the first album to feature songs written by Furay (“A Child’s Claim To Fame.”) Stills and Young both contributed some all-time classics with “Bluebird” and “Rock And Roll Woman” from Stills, and “Mr. Soul” and “Expecting To Fly” from Young.

When Last Time Around came out in July 1968, the band members were in the midst of transitioning to new projects: Stills famously joined David Crosby and Graham Nash in CSN; Young went solo; and Furay started Poco with Jim Messina, who produced Last Time Around and played bass on two of the songs. Highlights abound on the album with Young’s “I Am A Child,” Furay’s “Kind Woman” and Stills’ “Uno Mundo.”

5 CD | 5 LP

Buffalo Springfield (1966)

1. Go And Say Goodbye
2. Sit Down I Think I Love You
3. Leave
4. Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing
5. Hot Dusty Roads
6. Everybody’s Wrong
7. Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
8. Burned
9. Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It
10. Baby Don’t Scold Me
11. Out Of My Mind
12. Pay The Price
13. For What It’s Worth

Buffalo Springfield Again (1967)

1. Mr. Soul
2. A Child’s Claim To Fame
3. Everydays
4. Expecting To Fly
5. Bluebird
6. Hung Upside Down
7. Sad Memory
8. Good Time Boy
9. Rock And Roll Woman
10. Broken Arrow

Last Time Around (1968)

1. On The Way Home
2. It’s So Hard To Wait
3. Pretty Girl Why
4. Four Days Gone
5. Carefree Country Day
6. Special Care
7. The Hour Of Not Quite Rain
8. Questions
9. I Am A Child
10. Merry-Go-Round
11. Uno Mundo
12. Kind Woman

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.