Caitlyn Smith announces ‘High & Low’

Self-produced third album due Apr 14th

Last year, Monument Records’ powerhouse vocalist Caitlyn Smith released High, the first half of a record that the critically acclaimed singer/songwriter self-produced. Smith has announced the completion of that project, adding six new songs to make her full record, High & Low, due April 14th.

For Smith, the making of High & Low represented a metamorphosis. Looking back, the award-winning songwriter realized she, as many do in the era of social media, had celebrated the “highs” of life publicly – while navigating the “lows” in private. Instead of showing vulnerability, it was easier to pretend everything was fine. But over the course of writing and producing High & Low, Smith learned to peel back the curtain, embracing all aspects of her life, including the “lows” she once held so close to vest.

“Nobody can have the highs without the lows,” she reflects. “When I decided to produce this album, I knew it was going to be a challenge – and musically it was a beautifully stretching & exciting experience. But it brought me into this unexpected season of life where I started facing all these roadblocks that were holding me back. Fear. Doubt. Denial. And I was really forced to finally bring these issues into the light. I went from hiding behind my songs to being able to say it out loud in the room – and that’s something I’m really proud of.

“Lately” is the first taste of what’s to come from the project. The track delves even further into this human experience, detailing the attempt to overcome loss using a series of distractions.

“I’d realized that I’d grown into this version of myself that only wanted to show and talk about the highs and became quite dependent on keeping up this façade that I have it all together,” she details. “Real life is gritty, and wild, and never perfect, and it’s given me so much freedom to be able to be more vulnerable not always put on a happy face, and be honest and unafraid of the more difficult feelings.”

The song was written by Smith with Gordie Sampson and Troy Verges.

The additional five new tracks balance 2022’s critically-acclaimed High with High & Low capturing the full picture of who Smith is as an artist and as a creator – where embracing the yin and yang simply makes you more human.

In addition to celebrating the release of High last year, the Minnesota native earned her first Academy of Country Music Awards nomination for New Female Artist of the Year. With two upcoming performances set for Opry at the Ryman on January 21st, Smith plans to announce 2023 shows soon.

1 High – Intro
2 High
3 Dreamin’s Free
4 Lately [New]
5 Mississippi [New]
6 Good As Us
7 Alaska [New]
8 Maybe In Another Life
9 I Think Of You [New]
10 Nothing Against You
11 Downtown Baby
12 Writing Songs and Raising Babies [New]
13 I Don’t Like The World Without You
14 The Great Pretender [New]

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: