Carlos Santana handpicks 30 personal favorite tracks for ‘Splendiferous Santana’ streaming compilation

Newly-curated playlist spotlights Latin rock guitarist’s musical high points and hidden gems from 2003-2019

Iconic musician Carlos Santana has taken a fresh look at the music he’s created in the first two decades of the 21st century and handpicked the 30 recordings comprising Splendiferous Santana, a new compilation showcasing highlights drawn from Santana’s phenomenal musical output spanning 2003-2019. An ideal soundtrack for summer 2021, Splendiferous Santana is available now at all digital outlets.

Splendiferous is a vision collection of incredible songs that I feel needed to be shared with the listeners’ heart. I personally compiled the songs in a flow that speaks to me and tells a story, outside of time,” Santana shares. “The songs are assigned and designed to unite and celebrate humanity and bring healing and intimacy. I invite you to turn it up and join us for a glorious ride and enjoy ‘The Summer of Santana!’ It’s going to be Splendiferous!”

Splendiferous Santana focuses on the too-often-underappreciated, yet creatively fertile period following Santana’s 1998 induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the massive success of 1999’s Supernatural, which took home nine Grammy Awards (including Album of the Year) while earning 15x platinum RIAA status and selling 30 million copies worldwide.

In the wake of Supernatural, Santana released a series of remarkable recordings — among them 2003’s Shaman, 2005’s All That I Am and 2014’s Corazón — that stand with the best that Carlos, or his band, have ever made. Many of these songs and performances were overlooked at the time of their release and are being presented anew on Splendiferous Santana as essential musical elements in the Santana canon.

When choosing his favorite tracks for Splendiferous Santana, Santana selected nine songs each from Shaman and All That I Am, six from Corazón (including the “La Flaca” single featuring Juanes), three from 2007’s Ultimate Santana, two from 2019’s Africa Speaks (featuring vocalist Buika) and one from 2012’s Shape Shifter.

Guest artists collaborating with Santana on the Splendiferous Santana compilation include Plácido Domingo (“Novus), Ismaila and Touré Kunda (“Con Santana”), (“I Am Somebody”), Samuel Rosa (Saideira), Los Fabulosos Cadillacs (“Mal Bicho”), Macy Gray (“Amoré (Sexo)”), Seal (“You Are My Kind”), Chad Kroeger (“Into the Night”), Sean Paul and Joss Stone (“Cry Baby Cry”), Anthony Hamilton (“Twisted”), Musiq (“Nothing At All”), Citizen Cope (“Sideways”), Alejandro Lerner (“Hoy Es Adios”), Diego Torres (“Amor Correspondido”), Kirk Hammett (“Trinity”), Tina Turner (“The Game of Love”), Gloria Estefan (“Beijo de Longe”), Romeo Santos (“Margarita”), Bo Bice (“Brown Skin Girl”), Steven Tyler (“Just Feel Better”), Juanes (“La Flaca”) and Buika (“Yo Me Lo Merezco,” “Candombe Cumbele”).

Later this summer, Santana will return to the House of Blues in Las Vegas for the ninth year for An Intimate Evening with Santana: Greatest Hits Live. The Latin rock guitarist will headline 24 shows from August through December at the venue inside Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino.

Next year, Santana will launch the Miraculous Supernatural Tour with Earth, Wind & Fire in June of 2022 throughout North America, pairing the two for the first time on tour. The trek was initially planned for summer 2020, but postponed due to the pandemic. The European trek was canceled last spring.

1. Novus (featuring Plácido Domingo) [Shaman (2002)]
2. Eres La Luz Shape Shifter (2012)
3. Aye Aye Aye Shaman (2002)
4. Con Santana (featuring Ismaila, Touré Kunda) [All That I Am (2005)]
5. Adouma Shaman (2002)
6. El Fuego All That I Am (2005)
7. Hermes All That I Am (2005)
8. I Am Somebody (featuring [All That I Am (2005)]
9. Saideira (featuring Samuel Rosa) [Corazón (Deluxe Version) (2014)]
10. Mal Bicho (featuring Los Fabulosos Cadillacs) [Corazón (Deluxe Version) (2014)]
11. Da Tu Amor All That I Am (2005)
12. Amoré (Sexo) (featuring Macy Gray) Shaman (2002)
13. You Are My Kind (featuring Seal) Shaman (2002)
14. Into the Night (featuring Chad Kroeger) [Ultimate Santana (2007)]
15. Cry Baby Cry (featuring Sean Paul, Joss Stone) [All That I Am (2005)]
16. Twisted (featuring Anthony Hamilton) [All That I Am (2005)]
17. Nothing At All (featuring Musiq) [Shaman (2002)]
18. Sideways (featuring Citizen Cope) [Shaman (2002)]
19. Hoy Es Adios (featuring Alejandro Lerner) [Shaman (2002)]
20. Amor Correspondido (featuring Diego Torres) [Corazón (Deluxe Version) (2014)]
21. Yo Me Lo Merezco (featuring Buika) [Africa Speaks (2019)]
22. Trinity (featuring Kirk Hammett & Robert Randolph) [All That I Am (2005)]
23. The Game of Love (featuring Tina Turner) [Ultimate Santana (2007)]
24. Beijo de Longe (featuring Gloria Estefan) [Corazón (Deluxe Version) (2014)]
25. Margarita (featuring Romeo Santos) [Corazón (Deluxe Version) (2014)]
26. Brown Skin Girl (featuring Bo Bice) [All That I Am (2005)]
27. Just Feel Better (featuring Steven Tyler) [Ultimate Santana (2007)]
28. La Flaca (featuring Juanes) “La Flaca” (featuring Juanes) (single) (2014)
29. Candombe Cumbele (featuring Buika) [Africa Speaks (2019)]
30. Victory Is Won Shaman (2002)

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11288