Charlie Daniels announces Bob Dylan covers album

Charlie Daniels, best known for his No. 1 country hit “The Devil Went Down to Georgia,” which became a platinum single, topped both country and pop charts, won a Grammy Award, earned three CMA trophies, became a cornerstone of the “Urban Cowboy” movie soundtrack and propelled Daniels’ Million Mile Reflections album to triple-platinum sales levels, is set to release a new album Off The Grid—Doin’ It Dylan for CD and LP on April 1st.

In support of Off The Grid, Daniels will be making the media rounds including stops at Huckabee (March 29th), Morning Joe (March 31st), Access Hollywood (March 31st), Hannity (March 31st), Fox 411 (March 31st), The Artie Lange Show (March 31st), SiriusXM ‘Artist Confidential’ (March 31st), The Today Show (April 1st), ABC NewsNow (April 1st), The Better Show (April 6th), The Cain Conversation and more!

Off The Grid –Doin’ It Dylan, is yet another example of the seemingly endless reservoirs of musical creativity that the now 77 year young Daniels can effortlessly draw upon. The “playing the legend forward” beauty and respect in his tribute to Dylan doesn’t go unnoticed in the tracks.

The new collection contains Daniels’ signature deft musical delivery on ten of Dylan’s finest writings.

“In the early days, Dylan sang his songs accompanied by himself on guitar and harmonica and in the late sixties when he decided to add some other instruments to his records and concerts the purists, who had declared him poet laureate, prophet and spokesman for his generation, came apart at the seams, castigating him for defiling the purity of his genius with other musical influences,” says Daniels. “When Dylan came to town to record Nashville Skyline, due to my friendship with Bob Johnston, Dylan’s producer at the time, I was blessed to be a guitar player in the studio band on that album and the next two, Self Portrait and New Morning, an experience that did a lot for my confidence, my career and legitimizing me as a serious musician.”


Off The Grid will be released on Blue Hat Records in association with MRI and distributed by RED.


  1. Tangled Up In Blue
  2. Times They Are a Changin’
  3. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  4. Gotta Serve Somebody
  5. I Shall Be Released
  6. Country Pie
  7. Mr. Tambourine Man
  8. Hard Rains A Gonna Fall
  9. Just Like A Woman
  10. Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.