Chicago announces 50th anniversary remix of debut album

Record-setting debut features newly remixed version of double album

Chicago’s debut album, Chicago Transit Authority (self-titled at the time), was a groundbreaking double LP that showcased the band’s imaginative writing, proficient musicality and genre-blending mix of rock, jazz, funk and pop. In recognition of its enduring influence, the album was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2014.

In celebration of the album’s 50th anniversary, Chicago worked with mixing engineer Tim Jessup to remix the entire album. On August 30th, Chicago Transit Authority (50th Anniversary Remix) will be available on CD and as a 2 LP on 180-gram vinyl. There will also be a limited-edition, numbered version of the 2 LP set on gold vinyl available through The remixed album will also be available through digital and streaming services on the same day.

Originally released on April 28, 1969, Chicago Transit Authority topped the album chart, was certified double platinum and earned the band a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist. The album also has the unique distinction of having stayed on the charts for an amazing three-year run (171 weeks); a record when it was released.

This classic double album includes several of the group’s most-enduring hits: “Beginnings,” “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” and “Questions 67 and 68.” It also features the signature guitar work of the late Terry Kath on “South California Purple,” “Free Form Guitar” and a blazing cover of “I’m A Man.”

The album features Kath, keyboardist Robert Lamm, bassist Peter Cetera, drummer Danny Seraphine and Chicago’s legendary horn section: Lee Loughnane (trumpet), James Pankow (trombone), and Walt Parazaider (saxophone).

Chicago is one of the longest-running and best-selling groups of all time. It is the first American band to ever chart albums in Billboard’s Pop Top 40 in five consecutive decades. The group’s extensive accomplishments include: two Grammy Awards, multiple American Music Awards, 11 No. 1 singles, five consecutive No. 1 albums, record sales in excess of 100 million with 25 albums earning platinum certification.

A perennially popular live act, Chicago will tour for the 52nd consecutive year this summer.

CD |  2 LP

Side 1:

1. Introduction
2. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?
3. Beginnings

Side 2:

1. Questions 67 And 68
2. Listen
3. Poem 58

Side 3:

1. Free Form Guitar
2. South California Purples
3. I’m A Man

Side 4:

1. Prologue, August 29, 1968
2. Someday (August 29, 1968)
3. Liberation

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.