‘Chicago II: Live on Soundstage’ detailed

Chicago went home to its namesake city last year to record a live version of the band’s multi-platinum second album, Chicago II. Recorded at the historic WTTW-TV studios, the performance features every song from that classic album, including several that haven’t been played live since the 1970s. The concert is airing now on select PBS stations as part of the network’s Soundstage series.

Rhino will release Chicago II: Live on Soundstage on CD and CD/DVD on June 29th. Chicago II: Collector’s Edition will be released in August featuring the CD/DVD along with the original Chicago II album remixed by acclaimed producer Steven Wilson on both CD and double LP.

Chicago II: Live on Soundstage underscores the enduring popularity of Chicago’s second album with an energized performance of the entire double album in front of a live audience. The band currently performs Chicago II in its entirety and will continue to play the album throughout the year and on their upcoming tour with REO Speedwagon, followed by a set of their greatest hits.

Originally released in January 1970 as Chicago (and later dubbed Chicago II), the album was a major breakthrough for the band and features some of the group’s biggest hits, including the Top 10 singles: “25 Or 6 To 4,” “Make Me Smile” and “Colour My World.”

Nominated for three Grammy awards and certified double-platinum, the album is also known for several extended song cycles: “Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon” by trombonist/composer James Pankow; “Memories Of Love” by guitarist Terry Kath and composer Peter Matz; and “It Better End Soon” by keyboardist/vocalist/composer Robert Lamm. Robert Lamm and James Pankow have also become the latest inductees of the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2017.

CD | CD/DVD | Collector’s Edition

  1. Movin’ In
  2. The Road
  3. Poem For The People
  4. In The Country
  5. Wake Up Sunshine
  6. Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon
    • Make Me Smile
    • So Much To Say, So Much To Give
    • Anxiety’s Moment
    • West Virginia Fantasies
    • Colour My World
    • To Be Free
    • Now More Than Ever
  7. Fancy Colours
  8. Memories Of Love
  9. It Better End Soon
    • 1st Movement
    • 2nd Movement
    • 4th Movement
  10. Where Do We Go From Here
  11. 25 Or 6 To 4

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.