Chris Young sets ‘Famous Friends’ for Aug

Highly anticipated 14-song project features collaborations with Lauren Alaina, Mitchell Tenpenny and Kane Brown

Chris Young has set August 6th for his highly-anticipated album, Famous Friends, on CD and LP via RCA Records. Led by the Billboard and Mediabase top 5 and rising title track with Kane Brown, the 14-song project features several more of Young’s famous friends, including collaborations with Lauren Alaina and Mitchell Tenpenny, plus background vocals from Sarah Buxton, Hillary Lindsey and Shay Mooney.

“I know I’ve said it before, but I honestly can’t say it enough – I am so excited to be releasing my new album,” Young shares. “There are so many incredibly talented artists, songwriters and producers – all friends of mine – who helped make this album possible. Having friends share their talents as collaborators, songwriters, producers and more, it’s only natural to call the album ‘Famous Friends.’”

In addition to “Raised On Country,” “Drowning,” “Town Ain’t Big Enough” and “Famous Friends,” which recently won for CMT Music Awards Collaborative Video of the Year, his new song “Rescue Me,” which Young first teased on Instagram, can be streamed and downloaded starting today (June 11th) ahead of the album’s release in August.

“I think ‘Rescue Me’ is such a cool twist on the typical love song concept,” Young states of the song written with Josh Hoge, Mark Holman, Matthew McGinn and Christian Davis Stalnecker, one of 13 tracks he had a hand in writing on the new record. “People were already falling in love with it just based off short social teases. It’s something special and I’m proud to have helped write it and produce it alongside Mark Holman.”

While the album’s final track, “Tonight We’re Dancing,” is produced solely by Young, continuing the theme of the new record — Famous Friends — he co-produced the remaining 13 of 14 songs along with several more of his famous friends – Corey Crowder, Chris DeStefano and Mark Holman.

“I want people to fall in love with it, blow their speakers listening to it, dance to it, party along with it, cry to it, just live it – and I can’t wait to start playing this new music on the road soon” declares Young.

Young is offering several limited edition box sets of the album at his website with an exclusive cover and signed CDs.


  1. Raised on Country
  2. Famous Friends (with Kane Brown)
  3. Town Ain’t Big Enough (with Lauren Alaina)
  4. Drowning
  5. Rescue Me
  6. Break Like You Do
  7. At the End of a Bar (with Mitchell Tenpenny)
  8. Love Looks Good on You
  9. One of Them Nights
  10. When You’re Drinking
  11. Cross Every Line
  12. Hold My Beer Watch This
  13. Best Seat in the House
  14. Tonight We’re Dancing

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11187