CMT names Artists of the Year 2019

Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett to be honored

CMT has named Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett as its CMT Artists of the Year 2019. The acts will be celebrated during a TV special airing Wednesday, October 16th at 8 pm ET/PT live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

“These five, stand-out honorees have dominated country music this year, and we look forward to paying tribute to each of them at the tenth year anniversary CMT Artists of the Year event,” states Leslie Fram, CMT’s senior vice president of music strategy and talent. “This incredible collection of talent coming together at what marks a pivotal time in each of their careers promises to be a night of incredible performances and reflection.”

As in past years, the ceremony will be packed with tribute performances to each of the honorees, and will feature surprise performance collaborations and guest appearances. For the first time in the event’s ten year history, CMT’s cameras will be out on tour with Underwood, capturing her performance from the Cry Pretty 360 Tour in Cleveland.

Underwood is a five-time honoree, Rhett is a two-timer while Dan + Shay, Combs and Brown are all first time honorees celebrating the best in country music from the past 12 months.

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11187