Cody Johnson announces ‘Human The Double Album’

Eighteen track album due Oct 8th

Cody Johnson has announced Human The Double Album, his sophomore release via COJO Music/Warner Music Nashville. The 18 track project will be available October 8th on all digital music platforms and physically via his website. The massive endeavor is stacked top to bottom with songs that were originally rejected by other Nashville artists, for what Johnson considers as being too country for country.

“It’s so hard to watch the fight to get the cowboy back on the radio, so I told them to bring those songs to me. Because that’s who I am and the lifestyle I live,” Johnson explains.

“There was too much good out there to let go of, so I just said, ‘We’re going to cut all of them.’ There are ones I wrote on, there are ones I didn’t write on, and there are ones that I wish I’d written. I addressed things personally with this music and when people listen to Human, they are going to hear a lot more of me being me. I am finally comfortable with myself and able to share that with my fans.”

To celebrate the announcement, Johnson has also released the new tracks “Treasure” and “Son of a Ramblin’ Man,” which are both featured on the project. Backed by harmonies and a beautiful fiddle feature, Johnson brings to life songwriter Matt Rogers’ lyrics in “Treasure,” which tells a story about how beauty really is in the eye of the beholder. He then puts his Texas spin on “Son of a Ramblin’ Man,” written and originally recorded by legendary singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Vince Gill.

In addition, Johnson’s feature-length documentary, Dear Rodeo: The Cody Johnson Story, can now be rented or purchased exclusively via the Apple TV app through October 8th in the US and Canada. The Texas native also sat down with Today’s Country Radio host Kelleigh Bannen to break down what it means to be a cowboy and how his forthcoming album is an invitation for listeners to accept the highs and lows of their own lives.

Dear Rodeo: The Cody Johnson Story was first released to select cinemas nationwide for a limited time, with multiple showings added due to popular demand, for a total of 239 theaters featuring the movie across the country. Alongside guest appearances by Reba McEntire, Navy Seal Chris Kyle’s widow Taya Kyle, and more, Johnson opens up about how his years on the rodeo circuit fortuitously prepared him for his life as a country star. From standing in the back of the chute at the rodeo or singing about it in front of 75,000 fans, fans will learn more about his real-life journey from the dusty rodeo arenas of rural Texas to some of the biggest musical stages in America. The film vividly captures all the emotional highs and lows that come from the dreams you cling to and the dreams you ultimately let go of.

CD 1: Part 1

  1. Human – Tony Lane, Travis Meadows
  2. Honky Tonk Hardwood Floors – Carson Chamberlain, Wyatt McCubbin, Michael White
  3. Sad Songs and Waltzes – Willie Nelson
  4. ’Til You Can’t – Matt Rogers, Ben Stennis
  5. God Bless the Boy (Cori’s Song) – Barrett Baber, Terri Jo Box, Scott Sean White
  6. Known for Loving You – Cody Johnson, Ben Hayslip, Trent Willmon
  7. Driveway – Lindsay Rimes, Matt Rogers
  8. Son of a Ramblin’ Man – Vince Gill
  9. I Always Wanted To – Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin, Jordyn Shellhart

CD 2: Part 2

  1. I Don’t Know a Thing About Love – Harlan Howard
  2. Longer Than She Did – Eric Paslay, Paul Sikes, Matt Stell
  3. Made a Home – Cody Johnson, Jesse Raub, Scott Sean White
  4. Let’s Build a Fire – Chris Janson, Mitch Oglesby
  5. When It Comes to You – Jeremy Bussey, Tony Lane
  6. Treasure – Matt Rogers
  7. Stronger – Jared Elledge, Dustin Miller, Trent Willmon
  8. Cowboy Scale of 1 to 10 – Cody Johnson, David Frasier, Trent Willmon
  9. By Your Grace – Cody Johnson

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11288