Daisy Jones & The Six release double single ‘Special Gift for Our Fans’

“It Was Always You” & “Aurora (Live From SNL)” available now

Atlantic Records is proud to release Daisy Jones & The Six’s “Special Gift For Our Fans,” a double single comprised of previously unreleased tracks “It Was Always You” and “Aurora (Live from SNL).” Both songs are lifted from the penultimate episode of the Prime Video limited series Daisy Jones & The Six, which concluded its ten-episode rollout on the streaming platform last week.

The release arrives in response to massive fan demand following the airing of the hit series’ final episodes.

Co-written and produced by Grammy-winning songwriter, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Blake Mills (Bob Dylan, Fiona Apple, Alabama Shakes, John Legend, Perfume Genius), “It Was Always You” and “Aurora (Live From SNL)” are the latest additions to Daisy Jones & The Six’s growing catalog, which has been streamed over 50 million times thus far.

The band’s full-length album Aurora was produced in its entirety by Mills, with additional production from renowned producer Tony Berg (Phoebe Bridgers, Andrew Bird). Taken from page to screen to recording studio, it marks the storied debut LP from the titular band of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s beloved, New York Times bestselling novel Daisy Jones & The Six.

Aurora released to tremendous acclaim from critics and fans alike, debuting at No. 1 on Billboard’s Soundtracks chart, No. 4 on the Billboard Vinyl Albums & Americana/Folk Albums charts, No. 9 on Top Current Albums, No. 10 on Top Albums, and more. Daisy Jones & The Six themselves debuted at No. 1 on Billboard’s Emerging Artists chart – becoming the first act from a scripted series or film to do so. (They also became the first such act to hit No. 1 on the iTunes Top Albums chart.)

In addition to Aurora, the new songs follow the stunning Amazon Original version of “Look At Us Now (Honeycomb),” performed by Marcus Mumford & Maren Morris and out exclusively via Amazon Music.

The original duet of “Look At Us Now (Honeycomb)” – featuring lead vocals from limited series co-stars Riley Keough and Sam Claflin – currently sits at the top of viral charts around the globe.

Daisy Jones & The Six debuted as the No. 1 Prime Video series earlier this month, and boasted a massive 1.5 billion social impressions within the first three days of the show’s rollout. The highly-anticipated series arrived via Amazon Studios and Reese Witherspoon’s media company Hello Sunshine, who optioned Reid’s work in 2018 – before Daisy Jones & The Six ever even hit bookshelves. Upon the novel’s release in early 2019, it received coveted recognition as a “Reese’s Book Club Pick.”

With over 25 original songs, co-written by Mills, Aurora and other music from throughout Daisy Jones & The Six boasts co-writing credits from several of the biggest names in music, including Marcus Mumford and Jackson Browne, with additional production from renowned record producer Tony Berg, and alongside instrumentalists from The Who, Nine Inch Nails, Pearl Jam, David Bowie, Elton John, Jeff Beck, The Wallflowers, and more. Other co-writers on Aurora include Chris Weisman, Ethan Gruska, and Z Berg, among others.

Mills – who also executive produced the music from the series – recorded the entirety of Aurora with Keough and Claflin at Sound City Studios. The iconic Van Nuys, CA space – now jointly run by Mills and Berg – also serves as the backdrop in both the book and limited series for the creation of the album.

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com