Danny Elfman releases ‘Big Mess’ Exclusive Collector’s Edition box set

Expansive deluxe release features four LPs with 3D lenticular cover art and more

Danny Elfman has announced a new collector’s edition box set of his critically acclaimed new album Big Mess, set for release in in January 2022 via ANTI/Epitaph Records. Limited to 1500 copies worldwide, the stunning release offers fans the ultimate window into the creation of the groundbreaking project and includes four LPs on exclusive color variants, featuring all 18 songs from Big Mess along with bonus discs containing unreleased reinterpretations of tracks from the album. In addition to the heralded duet version of “True” featuring Trent Reznor, the bonus discs will be comprised of new remixes from Health, clipping. and more, as well as never-before-released songs with featured vocalists including Rebekah Del Rio, FEVER333, Blixa Bargeld and a second vocal collaboration with Reznor.

Each record is held in its own unique jacket featuring a 3D lenticular print on the cover and is accompanied by a 60 page, hardcover artbook containing never-before-seen renderings of the distinctively unsettling digital sculptures of Elfman done by Sarah Sitkin, who crafted the album’s original artwork. The special box set also includes a 20 page stitched soft cover lyric book with behind-the-scenes photos, a 12”x9” art print signed by Elfman himself, a detailed life-sized light up model of Elfman’s peculiar hand designed to be a stand-alone showpiece or one-of-a-kind night-light, and a code which provides downloadable digital audio files and a behind-the-scenes mini documentary on the making of Big Mess. All components are housed in a high quality two-piece box with liquid embossing on the cover and spot gloss embossing on the cover and sides.

The Big Mess Collector’s Edition box set is available for pre-order now via Elfman’s website for $224.99, and will begin shipping in late January 2022.

Side A:

1. Sorry
2. True
3. In Time
4. Everybody Loves You

Side B:

1. Dance With The Lemurs
2. Serious Ground
3. Choose Your Side
4. We Belong

Side C:

1. Happy
2. Just A Human
3. Devil Take Away
4. Love In The Time Of COVID
5. Native Intelligence

Side D:

1. Better Times
2. Cruel Compensation
3. Kick Me
4. Get Over It
5. Insects

Side E:

1. We Belong (Rafiq Bhatia Remix)
2. Serious Ground (Xiu Xiu Remix)
3. Happy (33EMYBW Remix)
4. Insects (Machine Girl Insecticidal Tendencies Remix)
5. In Time (HEALTH Remix)

Side F:

1. Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix)
2. Sorry (Kid606 Remix)
3. Everybody Loves You (Boris Remix)
4. We Belong (Squarepusher Remix)

Side G:

1. Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix V2 Zach Plays Drums)
2. Insects (Debugged & Refucked Machine Girl Remix)
3. Insects (Stu Brooks Remix)
4. In Time (It All Falls Down – clipping. Remix)

Side H:

1. True (feat. Trent Reznor)
2. Native Intelligence (feat. Trent Reznor)
3. Kick Me (feat. FEVER333)
4. In Time (feat. Blixa Bargeld)
5. We Belong (feat. Rebekah Del Rio)

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11865