David Bowie ‘Breaking Glass EP 40th Anniversary Picture Disc’ detailed

7″ Picture Disc features four previously unreleased tracks

Parlophone Records is releasing David Bowie Breaking Glass EP (40th Anniversary Picture Disc) on November 16th. The limited release will be available as a 7″ picture disc featuring three previously unreleased live versions of the original EP tracks, plus the addition of an unreleased live version of “Hang On To Yourself.”

The Breaking Glass EP now features “Breaking Glass,” “Art Decade,” “Hang On To Yourself” and “Ziggy Stardust” live from Earls Court in London during the Isolar II Tour of 1978. The project was produced by Bowie and recorded live by Tony Visconti with The Manor Mobile on June 30th and July 1, 1978. The images used on the picture disc are by Masayoshi Sukita (A-Side) and Andrew Kent (AA-Side) taken during the tour.

These four tracks are alternative performances to the ones that recently appeared on the critically acclaimed live album, Welcome To The Blackout (Live London ’78), and none were featured on the original 1978 EP.

Initially released in the UK in January 1977 on the groundbreaking Low album, the studio version of “Breaking Glass” was co-written by Bowie, bassist George Murray and drummer Dennis Davis. A longer, reworked version of the song was a staple of the Isolar II Tour, and a live version from that tour was used as the lead track on the original live 7″ EP to promote Bowie’s second live album, Stage, in 1978.

Side A:

1. Breaking Glass (live) (written by David Bowie, George Murray & Dennis Davis)
2. Art Decade (live) (written by David Bowie)

Side AA:

1. Hang On To Yourself (live) (written by David Bowie)
2. Ziggy Stardust (live) (written by David Bowie)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.