David Bowie celebrates ‘Young Americans’ 45th anniversary

Exclusive gold vinyl edition available September 18th

Parlophone Records will celebrate the 45th anniversary of David Bowie’s ninth studio album, Young Americans, with a gold vinyl edition on September 18th, available exclusively at brick and mortar outlets.

Originally released in March 1975, Young Americans was a huge departure for Bowie, creating a sound during sessions in Philadelphia and New York that he described as “Plastic Soul.”

The album’s two hit singles, the title track and the John Lennon co-write “Fame,” are viewed as amongst Bowie’s very best with the latter giving him his first US No. 1.

The release follows the July 3rd release of Ouvrez Le Chien (Live Dallas ’95), a previously unavailable live recording from The Outside Tour in 1995. The recording stems from the Starplex Ampitheatre in Dallas on October 13, 1995.

Side 1:

  1. Young Americans
  2. Win
  3. Fascination
  4. Right

Side 2:

  1. Somebody Up There Likes Me
  2. Across The Universe
  3. Can You Hear Me
  4. Fame

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.