Dennis Quaid announces debut gospel album

Fallen: A Gospel Record for Sinners is due this summer

Emmy Award winner and two-time Golden Globe nominee Dennis Quaid will deliver his debut gospel album, Fallen: A Gospel Record for Sinners, on July 28th via Gaither Music Group. Pre-orders come instantly with Quaid’s cover of Kris Kristofferson’s 50-year-old hit, “Why Me Lord.”

Quaid will be appearing on TalkShopLive on June 14th, pre-selling autographed copies of the new album. He’ll also discuss the project starting at 7 pm ET.

Combining soul-stirring renditions of seven hymns and classics with five original songs, Quaid delivers honest, inspiring lyrics sung with unmistakable tones that reflect heartfelt gratitude and eternal hope.

Fallen was executive produced by Quaid with producers David R. “Fergie” Ferguson, Ben Isaacs and Chris Lindsey. The Isaacs and Jackson Brumley supply background vocals on “I’ll Fly Away,” while The Oak Ridge Boys join Quaid on “Life’s Railway to Heaven.”

Originally released on the soundtrack for Quaid’s faith-based film I Can Only Imagine, “On My Way to Heaven” was inspired by the global superstar’s public grapple with addiction. Quaid also vulnerably acknowledges these personal struggles and his subsequent return to Christianity on songs like the title track.

Fallen follows Quaid’s 2018 album, Out of the Box, described by Quaid as a junkyard of American music. Though he loves writing, recording and making movies, music holds a special place in the Texas native’s heart, and for the last four decades, he has toured extensively, displaying equal ease on the piano and acoustic guitar. Quaid enchants audiences with a set list that ranges from songs such as those included on Fallen to rock ‘n’ roll standards like “Great Balls of Fire!,” an homage to “the Killer,” who he portrayed in the 1989 box office smash.

Also known for his roles in The Rookie, The Day After Tomorrow, Traffic and others, Quaid’s recent big-screen credits include starring roles in Netflix’s uplifting movie, Blue Miracle, Sony’s thriller The Intruder, Universal’s A Dog’s Journey and A Dog’s Purpose and Disney’s animated adventure film Strange World. He also recently completed production portraying the 40th president of the United States in the biopic, Reagan, slated for release in early 2024.


1. Fallen
2. Please Don’t Give Up on Me
3. Why Me
4. God Gets Lonely Too
5. Just as I Am
6. Amazing Grace
7. Life’s Railway to Heaven
8. On My Way to Heaven
9. What A Friend We Have in Jesus
10. The Lord’s Prayer
11. Welcome Home
12. I’ll Fly Away

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: