Dokken releasing Elektra albums box set

Four of the band’s albums are comprised into CD & LP sets

Dokken is set to release The Elektra Albums 1983-1987 on 4 CD and 5 LP January 27th via BMG. The sets comprise the four albums that made Don Dokken and Co one of the biggest 80s rock bands of all time. The limited edition set will include the band’s first four albums — Breaking the Chains, Tooth and Nail, Under Lock and Key, and Back for the Attack.

Each of the albums feature the classic line-up of Don Dokken on vocals, George Lynch on guitar, Jeff Pilson on bass, and “Wild” Mick Brown on drums, and all have been newly remastered by Andy Pearce (Black Sabbath, Motorhead). Additionally, the LP box features 180-gram black vinyl.

Hailing from Los Angeles, Dokken released a string of Platinum albums throughout the 1980’s, and toured the globe with the biggest names in hard rock and heavy metal, including Van Halen, Aerosmith, Metallica, Scorpions, and Kiss.

The band had several hit singles on the Mainstream Rock and Billboard Hot 100 charts, and were all over MTV with their videos for “Breaking The Chains,” “Alone Again,” “Into The Fire,” “In My Dreams,” “It’s Not Love,” “Burning Like A Flame,” and especially the Theme from Nightmare on Elm Street 3, “Dream Warriors,” where they starred alongside Freddy Krueger.

Dokken has sold more than 10 million albums worldwide, and their live album, Beast from the East was nominated for the inaugural Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance in 1989.

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:

Articles: 15584