Concert available on DVD and digital May 15th

On May 15th, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Waylon Jennings: The Outlaw Performance to DVD and digital formats. Filmed in 1978, this concert film captures Jennings performing at a sold out Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville. Rolling out such staples as “I’ve Always Been Crazy,” “Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys,” and “Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way,” Jennings delivers a timeless set, representative of his stature as one of country music’s most important figures.

Adding a layer of intimacy, this unique footage is combined with interview excerpts from Jennings. Listening to him reflect and recount tales as they accompany the music supplies a special historic context, allowing viewers to experience Waylon Jennings in a new way.

As a bonus, The Outlaw Performance includes the full concert without the excerpts and a “Friends Remember The Outlaw” interview segment, featuring 1990 interviews with George Jones, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, and Waylon’s longtime drummer, Richie Albright.

Waylon Jennings was the personification of outlaw country, challenging the norms of Nashville’s conventional, polished sound at the time. The Outlaw Performance delivers the absolute essence of Jennings, as a songwriter and storyteller.


  1. Are You Ready For The Country?
  2. Lonesome, On’ry and Mean
  3. Waymore’s Blues
  4. Amanda
  5. A Long Time Ago
  6. Jack A Diamonds
  7. Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down
  8. This Time
  9. You Asked Me To
  10. I’ve Always Been Crazy
  11. Don’t You Think This Outlaw Bit’s Done Got Out Of Hand
  12. Good Hearted Woman
  13. Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
  14. Luckenbach, Texas
  15. Honky Tonk Heroes
  16. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way