Eagles of Death Metal announces covers album

Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote available June 7th

Eagles Of Death Metal’s Jesse “Boots Electric” Hughes is tipping his hat to 13 of his favorite songs with his first covers album, titled Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote. Set for worldwide release on June 7 by UMe, the album will be available on CD, 180-gram black vinyl LP, and limited edition 180-gram red and blue marble swirl vinyl LP formats. Hughes’ stunning turn on Mary J. Blige’s “Family Affair” is available for streaming and for immediate download with album pre-orders.

Hughes has recorded and produced electrifying renditions of 13 songs he loves, joined by special guests for some tracks and flying solo for others. All but one song were recorded in California at Brunswick House of Dangerous Thoughts, Valentine Studios, and Rancho De La Luna. The album was mixed and engineered at Valentine Studios by Nic Jodoin (who also co-produced six of the album’s tracks with Hughes).

Hughes blasts off with KISS’ “God Of Thunder,” Guns N’ Roses’ “It’s So Easy,” AC/DC’s “High Voltage”/”It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll),” Love & Rockets’ “So Alive,” and the Ramones’ “Beat on the Brat.” He lets the fire get higher on Steve Miller Band’s “Abracadabra” and delivers a breathtaking turn on George Michael’s “Careless Whisper.” Hughes’ inspired cover of Mary J. Blige’s “Family Affair” leads to two songs keeping it in the family: he gives love to his musical brother and EODM co-founder, Joshua “Baby Duck” Homme, and Josh’s wife, Brody Dalle, with his versions of Queens of the Stone Age’s “Long Slow Goodbye” and The Distillers’ “The Hunger.” Bringing the album home, Hughes salutes Kenny Rogers & The First Edition’s “Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In),” Cat Stevens’ “Trouble,” and David Bowie’s “Moonage Daydream,” which Hughes recorded in Third Man Records’ Record Booth in Nashville while on tour.

In June, EODM will be in Europe and the UK for several tour dates including a performance at Download Festival.

CD | 180-gram LP | Limited Edition 180-gram LP

  1. God Of Thunder (original by KISS)
  2. It’s So Easy (original by Guns N’ Roses)
  3. High Voltage / It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll) (originals by AC/DC)
  4. So Alive (original by Love & Rockets)
  5. Beat on the Brat (original by the Ramones)
  6. Abracadabra (original by Steve Miller Band)
  7. Careless Whisper (original by George Michael)
  8. Family Affair (original by Mary J. Blige)
  9. The Hunger (original by The Distillers)
  10. Long Slow Goodbye (original by Queens of the Stone Age)
  11. Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In) (original by Kenny Rogers & The First Edition)
  12. Trouble (original by Cat Stevens)
  13. Moonage Daydream (original by David Bowie)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.