Elton John announces ‘Diamonds’ collections

Elton John is set to release Diamonds, the ultimate greatest hits collection in a variety of configurations on November 10th via Universal Music Enterprises (UMe). The set will be available on single CD (United States only), 2 CD, Limited Edition 3 CD Box Set, 2 LP heavy weight gatefold vinyl and digital formats.

Kicking off with the ever-stunning “Your Song,” this definitive collection brings together all the landmark hits of one of the greatest song books of all time, including “Tiny Dancer,” “Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time),” “Candle In The Wind,” “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart,” “Sacrifice,” “Can You Feel The Love Tonight.”

Diamonds coincides with the 50th anniversary of John’s phenomenal song writing partnership with Bernie Taupin. Meeting in 1967 through a music magazine advert seeking songwriters, John and Taupin went on to become one of the most enduring song writing duos of all time, achieving a sustained level of success that puts them head and shoulders above the competition. Catapulted into the limelight as a song writing force in 1971 with “Your Song,” the duo never stood still creatively, defining an era with their run of back-to-back classic 1970’s albums. While “Candle In The Wind” topped the charts in three different decades and 2016’s critically acclaimed “Wonderful, Crazy, Night” was a top ten hit in the US, their legacy is one that is unrivaled in terms of longevity, creativity and commercial success.

The single CD version of Diamonds contains 17 songs; the 2 CD version contains 34 songs, a ten page booklet with contemporary illustrations of iconic John looks; the 2 LP version is pressed onto heavy-weight 180-gram vinyl and contains gatefold artwork. Housed in an attractive lidded box, the 3 CD limited edition box set version also contains a 72 page hardback book containing annotations for the stories behind each track plus a set of five postcards of illustrations of John. As well as a collection of some of the best loved songs of all time, all illustrations in these four formats are by contemporary artist Richard Kilroy.

The announcement of this definitive package comes at a time when John’s enduring legacy and relevance across the worlds of music, fashion and entertainment continues to burn as brightly as ever. Just last week Gucci unveiled their Spring Summer 2018 collection designed by Alessandro Michele and inspired by Elton’s inimitable style, referencing original items taken from the style icon’s archives. John also attended the world premiere of global box office number one sensation Kingsman: The Golden Circle, a film in which he appears as himself in a critically lauded, hilariously tongue-in-cheek role. Kingsman: The Golden Circle also features some of the classic tracks which can be found on Diamonds, including “Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting).”

CD | 2 CD | Limited Edition 3 CD Box Set | 2 LP

CD 1:

  1. Your Song
  2. Tiny Dancer
  3. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
  4. Honky Cat
  5. Crocodile Rock
  6. Daniel
  7. Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)
  8. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  9. Candle In The Wind
  10. Bennie And The Jets
  11. The Bitch Is Back
  12. Philadelphia Freedom
  13. Island Girl
  14. Someone Saved My Life Tonight
  15. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart [Elton John and Kiki Dee]
  16. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
  17. Little Jeannie

CD 2:

  1. Song For Guy
  2. Blue Eyes
  3. I’m Still Standing
  4. I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues
  5. Sad Songs (Say So Much)
  6. Nikita
  7. I Don’t Wanna Go On With You Like That
  8. Sacrifice
  9. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me [George Michael and Elton John]
  10. Something About The Way You Look Tonight
  11. I Want Love
  12. Can You Feel The Love Tonight
  13. Are You Ready For Love?
  14. Electricity
  15. Home Again
  16. Looking Up
  17. Circle Of Life

CD 3:

  1. Skyline Pigeon
  2. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  3. Pinball Wizard
  4. Mama Can’t Buy You Love
  5. Part-Time Love
  6. Victim of Love
  7. Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)
  8. Kiss The Bride
  9. That’s What Friends Are For [Dionne Warwick with Elton John, Gladys Knight & Stevie Wonder]
  10. The One
  11. True Love [Elton John and Kiki Dee]
  12. Believe
  13. Live Like Horses [Elton John and Luciano Pavarotti]
  14. Written In The Stars [Elton John and LeAnn Rimes]
  15. This Train Don’t Stop There Anymore
  16. Good Morning To The Night [Elton vs PNAU]
  17. Step Into Christmas

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11332