Elton John celebrates RSD with expanded ’17-11-70′ reissue

Elton John is celebrating the 10th anniversary of Record Store Day on Saturday, April 22nd with an expanded, double vinyl version of his first live album, 17-11-70 called 17-11-70+. The original album contained six songs of early compositions and covers, and was released in the UK in April 1971 with the US to follow in May. The reissue adds a bonus disc of seven songs never before available, making this the most complete edition ever available in any format.

“Happy 10th birthday to Record Store Day. I love record stores, I can go to the record store in Vegas and spend three hours in there,” John says in a statement. “Just the smell of it, the looking at it, the wonder of it, the memories. I love vinyl so much; the tactile nature, the ritual of it, looking at the sleeve…especially with the old albums and the liner notes – who played on them, the process of putting it on, the needle going on and the sound coming out. And it DOES sound better, I know it does! It’s just the wonder of having vinyl.”

17-11-70 entered the Billboard album charts on May 29th, peaking at No 11, and was one of four albums John released that year which placed simultaneously in the Billboard album chart — the first time that had happened since the Beatles did it in 1964.

The version of “Amoreena” included has never been released on vinyl. 17.11.70+ has been remastered by Bob Ludwig and will be released as a two LP set on 180-g vinyl exclusively through independent record stores on April 22nd.

“The album 17-11-70 was not meant to be a live one at all; we did one of the first ever stereo radio broadcasts live at A&R Recording Studios in New York City in 1970 on the 17th of November. It was Phil Ramone’s studio, one of the greatest producers of all time, and we just went in the booth and played it as a three-piece: Nigel Olsson on drums and vocals, Dee Murray on bass and vocals, and myself,” John states.

“There was a studio audience of about 100 sitting outside the booth, hearing it coming through the loud speakers, and we just played. I’m astonished by how good we were, listening to this record. It wasn’t initially coming out as a live album, but there were so many bootlegs in those days that the record company put it out. I’m glad they did because it really is something I’m very very proud of.”

Not all independent record stores will carry all RSD promotions. Please check your local store.

The original single album will be reissued on April 28th on LP. This release is marked as one in a series of vinyl releases to mark John’s 50th anniversary in the music industry.


LP 1:

A1. Take Me To The Pilot
A2. Honky Tonk Women
A3. Sixty Years On
A4. Can I Put You On

B1. Bad Side Of The Moon
B2. Burn Down The Mission (Incl. My Baby Left Me/Get Back)

LP 2:

C1. Indian Sunset*
C2. Amoreena**
C3. Your Song*

D1. Country Comfort*
D2. I Need You To Turn To*
D3. Border Song*
D4. My Father’s Gun*

* Previously unreleased bonus track
** Newly remixed bonus track

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.