Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Entire DGC/Geffen Sonic Youth catalog remastered for vinyl and HD digital audio

For more than a quarter century, Sonic Youth – featuring Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo and Steve Shelley – ruled the New York underground as the reigning post-punk experimental noise band of its era, releasing 15 full-length albums, from 1983’s Confusion Is Sex to 2009’s The Eternal. Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) is re-releasing the entire nine-album DGC/Geffen catalog – which ranges from 1990’s Goo to 2006’s Rather Ripped – remastered from the original stereo analog master tapes on both high-grade vinyl and a variety of HD audio formats (including 192kHz 24-bit, 96kHz 24-bit and Mastered for iTunes). All vinyl album releases will include a digital download card for 320kbps MP4 AAC audio.

All titles will be made available through all participating online stores and retail outlets, as well as Sonic Youth’s official website, on February 26th.

Goo was the sixth studio album by the band and its first for a major label. Its lead single, “Kool Thing” featured Chuck D of Public Enemy and also features the singles “Disappearer” and “Dirty Boots.” The album spawned tours in North America and Europe in fall ’91, the latter captured in the critically acclaimed documentary 1991: The Year Punk Broke (currently available on DVD).


Dirty was the band’s seventh studio album, a double-LP set, recorded with producer Butch Vig and engineer Andy Wallace, spawning the singles “100%,” “Youth Against Fascism” and “Sugar Kane.” Rolling Stone declares “Dirty is a great Sonic Youth disc, easily ranking with Daydream Nation and Sister among the band’s most unified and unforgettable recorded works.”


Washing Machine was the band’s ninth studio effort and is a double-LP set featuring the singles “The Diamond Sea” and “Little Trouble Girl.” Entertainment Weekly describes Washing Machine as “wonderfully hypnotic” while Rolling Stone states “Lee Ranaldo and Thurston Moore change tactics with every track, summoning beautifully spare, pointillistic melodies one minute and haywire polytonality the next. With surgical skill and a desire to stretch if not demolish the frontier, they’ve developed an attack that is astonishingly intricate and jazz-like in its extreme flexibility.”


“The Diamond Sea,” originally released as a CD single only, will be pressed on 12-inch vinyl for the first time ever. Side A features a 5:50 edit of the 20 minute album version of “The Diamond Sea” and the non-album song “My Arena” while side B features the 25:50 minute alternate ending take of “The Diamond Sea.”


Double-LPs of A Thousand Leaves (1998) and Sonic Nurse (2004) along with single-LP editions of Rather Ripped (2006), Experimental Jet Set, Trash and No Star (1994), NYC Ghosts & Flowers (2000) and Murray Street (2002) will arrive later in 2016. Dates to be announced at a future time.