Epix announces ‘Women Who Rock’ docu-series

Series premieres on July 10th

Epix has announced that four-part music docu-series Women Who Rock will premiere on Sunday, July 10th at 9 pm EDT/PDT. This Epix original, from John Varvatos and Derik Murray’s Network Entertainment, pays homage to female pioneers in music who have stormed the stage, wielded their instruments, amplified their voices, and sung the soundtrack of our lives. In their own words, generations of iconic female artists discuss truth, defiance, artistic expression, hard-won success, and most importantly, the insights and tales behind their timeless music.

The docu-series features original interviews with Nancy Wilson, Shania Twain, Chaka Khan, Pat Benatar, Mavis Staples, Sheryl Crow, Sheila E., Macy Gray, Rickie Lee Jones, Norah Jones, Aimee Mann, Tori Amos, Kate Pierson, Tina Weymouth, St. Vincent, Jody Watley, and Nona Hendryx.

In addition to Varvatos and Murray, Jessica Hopper, Jesse James Miller, Paul Gertz, Kent Wingerak, and Rachel Brill serve as executive producers. Hopper directs the docu-series.

Women Who Rock is a celebration of iconic women who boldly trailblazed their way into the men’s club of rock ‘n’ roll,” shares network president Michael Wright. “I’m thrilled to partner again with John Varvatos and Network Entertainment to continue Epix’s tradition of developing quality music docuseries for our discerning audience.”

Epix previously partnered with Varvatos and Network Entertainment on the five-time Leo Award-winning docu-series Punk, which was executive produced by Iggy Pop and explored the rise of the punk movement.

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com

Articles: 13737