Eric Church drops ‘Mr Misunderstood’ during CMA Awards

Country outlaw Eric Church is living up to his “Chief” moniker by dropping a new, unannounced album, Mr. Misunderstood, during the 49th Annual CMA Awards Wednesday (Nov 4th) night.

Church debuted the title track during the show and released the ten track album digitally through iTunes the same night. The album is also available on CD and vinyl exclusively through Church’s store before getting a wider, traditional release that is rumored to be on Thursday (Nov 5th).

Buzz surrounding the album first became known before the awards show when fan club members, known as the Church Choir, took to social media saying they received new CD and vinyl copies in the mail. A fan club member has reported that members are receiving a limited edition white vinyl album.

Church teamed with long time producer Jay Joyce for the Americana-sounding project and reportedly wrote, recorded and released the project all within 30 days.

The album’s first single and music video, “Mr. Misunderstood,” can be seen below.


1. Mr. Misunderstood
2. Mistress Named Music
3. Chattanooga Lucy
4. Mixed Drinks About Feelings
5. Knives of New Orleans
6. Round Here Buzz
7. Kill a Word
8. Holdin’ My Own
9. Record Year
10. Three Year Old

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11266