Eric Clapton ‘Unplugged’ gets expanded treatment

An expanded and remastered version of Eric Clapton’s multi-Grammy winning, Diamond-certified Unplugged album is coming on October 15th via Reprise Records. The reissue will feature unreleased music and previously unseen rehearsal footage available as a 2 CD/1 DVD set and a separate 2 CD only set.

In 1992, Unplugged captured the legendary guitarist, backed by a small band, performing acoustic versions of his own songs as well as blues standards. Released later that same year, the album was an unqualified blockbuster, selling more than 19 million copies worldwide and earning six Grammy Awards, sweeping the top honors, including Record of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year.

Reprise Records celebrates Clapton’s electrifying acoustic performances with a new 2 CD/DVD collection that includes a remastered version of the original album along with six unreleased outtakes on two CDs. The DVD features a newly restored version of the MTV concert, as well as more than an hour of previously unseen footage from the rehearsal.

For the original album’s 14 performances, Clapton reinterpreted songs from his rich catalog, including “Layla” — completely re-imagined as a shuffle — from his time with Derek and the Dominos, “Running On Faith” and “Old Love” from 1989’s Journeyman, and the hit single “Tears In Heaven,” a song he wrote after the passing of his young son Conor the previous year. Much of the album showcases blues songs Clapton grew up listening to, like Bo Diddley’s “Before You Accuse Me,” Big Bill Broonzy’s “Hey Hey,” Leadbelly’s “Alberta” and Robert Johnson’s “Malted Milk.”

The second disc of Unplugged: Expanded And Remastered includes several songs not on the original album, such as a cover of Big Maceo Merriweather’s “Worried Life Blues,” an alternate take of “Walkin’ Blues” and early versions of “Circus” and “My Father’s Eyes” — songs that would surface six years later on Clapton’s album Pilgrim.

The DVD included in this collection contains a newly restored version of the original broadcast, which aired August 25, 1992 on MTV. For the first time ever, fans will also have the opportunity to see more than an hour of unreleased footage recorded during the pre-show rehearsal. Filmed from multiple camera angles, it features an intimate look at Clapton and the band working on arrangements and running through 14 songs, including “Circus” and “My Father’s Eyes,” which were not featured in the final broadcast.


CD 1 – Remastered Album

1.  Signe
2.  Before You Accuse Me
3.  Hey Hey
4.  Tears In Heaven
5.  Lonely Stranger
6.  Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
7.  Layla
8.  Running On Faith
9.  Walkin’ Blues
10.  Alberta
11.  San Francisco Bay Blues
12.  Malted Milk
13.  Old Love
14.  Rollin’ & Tumblin’

CD 2 – Outtakes & Alternates (All Tracks Previously Unreleased)

1.  Circus
2.  My Father’s Eyes (Take 1)
3.  Running On Faith (Take 1)
4.  Walkin’ Blues (Take 1)
5.  My Father’s Eyes (Take 2)
6.  Worried Life Blues


1.  Signe
2.  Before You Accuse Me
3.  Hey Hey
4.  Tears In Heaven
5.  Circus
6.  Lonely Stranger
7.  Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
8.  Layla
9.  My Father’s Eyes
10.  Running On Faith
11.  Walkin’ Blues
12.  Alberta
13.  San Francisco Bay Blues
14.  Malted Milk

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *