Faith No More announces album deluxe reissues

Last summer, Faith No More treated fans to Sol Invictus, the group’s first new studio release in almost 20 years. This year, the band will revisit two classic albums with Deluxe Editions of King For A Day and Album Of The Year on September 9th.

Each album will be available as a two disc set that includes the original release accompanied by a second disc filled with rarities related to the album for a list price of $19.98. In addition to the CD set there will also be a double LP, 180-gram heavyweight black vinyl format of each album, featuring the remastered original, along with rare bonus tracks, many of which are making their vinyl debut, for a list price of $31.98.

Following its Grammy nominated album Angel Dust, Faith No More returned in 1995 with King For A Day…Fool For A Lifetime. Recorded at Bearsville Studios near Woodstock, New York, it was the first without longtime guitarist Jim Martin, whose departure had an influence on the direction of the album. In the new liner notes, keyboardist Roddy Bottum writes: “As a result, we wrote and recorded some of our most radical, out there songs, like ‘Cuckoo For Caca’ and ‘Ugly In The Morning,’ some of our mellowest like ‘Take This Bottle,’ ‘Caralho Voador’ and then some or our most high-drama, like ‘Just A Man.'”

Among the eight bonus tracks are the B-sides “Spanish Eyes” and “Absolute Zero,” as well as the band’s cover of the Bee Gee’s “I Started A Joke,” which was originally released as a b-side in 1995, and then as a single in 1998.

The band returned in 1997 with Album Of The Year, which became Faith No More’s first and only number one album. It features members of the current lineup: Mike Bordin (drums), Roddy Bottum (keyboards) Billy Gould (bass) Jon Hudson (guitar), and Mike Patton (vocals). Recorded mostly in Gould’s home studio, the album produced three singles: “Ashes to “Ashes,” “Last Cup of Sorrow” and “Stripsearch.” In the liner notes, Bottum writes: “We were definitely referencing our musical roots as well, going back to darker tones visited in Angel Dust …in retrospect it feels really strong and an undeniably prolific chapter in what we ultimately set out to do.”

Album Of The Year‘s eight bonus tracks also include live versions of the album track “Collision” and the Burt Bacharach and Hal David classic, “This Guy’s In Love With You,” plus rare mixes of “Last Cup of Sorrow,” “Pristina” and more.

Faith No More - King For A Day Fool For A Lifetime

King For A Day Fool For A Lifetime – CD | 2 LP

CD 1: King For A Day Fool For A Lifetime

1. “Get Out”
2. “Ricochet”
3. “Evidence”
4. “The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies”
5. “Star AD”
6. “Cuckoo For Caca”
7. “Caralho Voador”
8. “Ugly In The Morning”
9. “Digging The Grave”
10. “Take This Bottle”
11. “King For A Day”
12. “What A Day”
13. “The Last To Know”
14. “Just A Man”

CD 2: Bonus Tracks

1. “Evidence [Version en Español]”*
2. “Absolute Zero”*
3. “Greenfields”*
4. “I Started A Joke”*
5. “Spanish Eyes”*
6. “I Won’t Forget You”*
7. “Hippie Jam”*
8. “Instrumental”*
9. “I Wanna F**k Myself”*
10. “Evidence [Versão em Português]”*
11. “Digging The Grave [Live]”*
12. “The Gentle Art Of Making Enemies [Live]”*
13. “Interview [B-Side]”*

Album Of The Year – CD | 2 LP

CD 1: Album Of The Year

1. “Collision”
2. “Stripsearch”
3. “Last Cup Of Sorrow”
4. “Naked In Front Of The Computer”
5. “Helpless”
6. “Mouth To Mouth”
7. “Ashes To Ashes”
8. “She Loves Me Not”
9. “Got That Feeling”
10. “Paths Of Glory”
11. “Home Sick Home”
12. “Pristina”

CD 2: Bonus Tracks

1. “Pristina [Billy Gould Mix]”*
2. “Last Cup Of Sorrow [Roli Mosimann Mix]”*
3. “She Loves Me Not [Spinna Main Mix]”*
4. “Ashes To Ashes [Hard Knox Alt. Mix]”*
5. “Light Up And Let Go”*
6. “The Big Kahuna”*
7. “This Guy’s In Love With You”*
8. “Collision [Live]”*

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.