First two CCR albums get half-speed reissues

Continuing the 50th anniversary celebration of all things Creedence Clearwater Revival (CCR), Craft Recordings is pleased to announce breakout half-speed mastered editions for the band’s first two studio albums, their self-titled 1968 debut, Creedence Clearwater Revival, and the 1969 follow-up Bayou Country (previously available only as part of The Studio Albums Collection box set), to be released March 15th.

Both titles have been mastered at half-speed at Abbey Road Studios, benefiting from an exacting process that allows for an exceptional level of sonic clarity and punch, bringing these classic recordings a new vibrancy. The 180-gram LPs come housed in handsome tip-on jackets replicating the packaging of the original pressings. Using high-res transfers from the original analog tapes, the half-speed mastering process involves playing back audio at half its recorded speed while the cutting lathe is turned at half the desired playback speed. This technique allows more time to cut a micro-precise groove, enabling more accuracy with frequency extremes and dynamic contrasts.

Special bundle packages, featuring an exclusive official Creedence Clearwater Revival logo tee, are available via the Craft Recordings web store.

Abbey Road Studios’ award-winning engineer Miles Showell, who mastered these titles, explains, “I’ve tried to be as authentic as I could, and just make it sound like music. Not over-hyped, not over-processed. Up until now a lot of processing has been done on these recordings, so my approach was to strip them right back and just expose them for what they are — because what they are is great music.”

Creedence Clearwater Revival’s 1968 self-titled debut album introduced the world to guitar-playing brothers John and Tom Fogerty, drummer Doug Clifford, and bassist Stu Cook, four young men out of El Cerrito in the San Francisco Bay Area. Though they emerged in a place and time where trippy, psychedelic visions were the order of the day, CCR bucked the trends and instead tapped into a rich, traditional seam of American music that connected to blues, country, rockabilly, gospel, folk and R&B. Creedence Clearwater Revival features the band’s classic hits “Porterville” and “Suzie Q.,” plus their iconic cover of “I Put a Spell on You.”

Creedence Clearwater Revival’s sophomore studio album, Bayou Country, features the classic hits “Proud Mary,” “Born on the Bayou” and “Bootleg.” The album was first released by Fantasy Records in 1969 and was the first of three CCR albums released that year – the most prolific phase of CCR’s short but extraordinary career. (They released seven studio albums in only four years, from 1968 to 1972.) “Proud Mary” peaked at No. 2 in the singles chart in 1969, their first of many Creedence tracks to hit the Billboard Top 10.

Creedence Clearwater Revival – Half Speed Master

Side A:

1. I Put a Spell on You
2. The Working Man
3. Suzie Q.

Side B:

1. Ninety Nine And a Half (Won’t Do)
2. Get Down Woman
3. Porterville
4. Gloomy
5. Walk on the Water

Bayou Country – Half Speed Master

Side A:

1. Born on the Bayou
2. Bootleg
3. Graveyard Train

Side B:

1. Good Golly Miss Molly
2. Penthouse Pauper
3. Proud Mary
4. Keep on Chooglin’

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.