A Flock of Seagulls announce 40th anniversary deluxe box set

Set available on 3 CD and LP

Initially released in April 1982, the eponymous debut album by A Flock Of Seagulls saw the band spearheading the Second British Invasion of the USA. Produced by Mike Howlett (Tears For Fears, OMD, Gang of Four) and Bill Nelson of Be-Bop Deluxe fame, the album enjoyed massive success across the world, hitting No. 10 in the US and No. 1 in Australia, propelled by the third single from the record, the New Wave classic “I Ran.”

“I Ran,” while not a big hit in their home country, was a No. 9 smash on the Billboard Hot 100, and like the album, hit No. 1 in Australia, the track has continued to find new audiences through its use as an 80s classic in games such as Grand Theft Auto. The album also features the singles “Telecommunication” and “Space Age Love Song” as well as “DNA,” which earned the band a Grammy for Best Rock Instrumental Performance in 1983.

The 40th anniversary 3 CD deluxe edition features a remastered version of the original album, b-sides, single versions, remixes, BBC Sessions for revered broadcasters such as John Peel and he band’s fellow Liverpudlian Janice Long and a BBC concert from The Paris Theatre, London, which was originally transmitted in January 1982. The set also features sleeve notes by esteemed writer John Earls, featuring a new interview with lead singer and founding band member Mike Score. The remastered album is also available as limited edition transparent orange vinyl LP.

CD 1: Original Album Remastered

  1. Modern Love Is Automatic
  2. Messages
  3. I Ran
  4. Space Age Love Song
  5. You Can Run
  6. Telecommunication
  7. Standing In The Doorway
  8. Don’t Ask Me
  9. D.N.A.
  10. Tokyo
  11. Man Made

CD 2: B-sides, Singles, Remixes & BBC Session

  1. Factory Music
  2. Tanglimara
  3. Intro
  4. Pick Me Up
  5. Windows
  6. (It’s Not Me) Talking
  7. Modern Love Is Automatic (Single Edit)
  8. I Ran (Single Edit)
  9. Space Age Love Song (Single Edit)
  10. (It’s Not Me) Talking (Remix)
  11. (It’s Not Me) Talking (Instrumental)
  12. I Ran (12″ Mix)
  13. John Peel Session
  14. Messages From The Rings Of Saturn
  15. (It’s Not Me) Talking
  16. I Ran
  17. Committed

CD 3: BBC Sessions & Concert

  1. Richard Skinner Session
  2. Don’t Ask Me
  3. Messages From The Rings Of Saturn
  4. I Ran
  5. Tanglimara
  6. Kid Jensen Session
  7. D.N.A.
  8. I Ran
  9. Space Age Love Song
  10. Standing In The Doorway
  11. Janice Long Session
  12. Man Made
  13. I Ran
  14. Telecommunication
  15. You Can Run
  16. Paris Theatre, London Concert
  17. Modern Love Is Automatic
  18. Standing In The Doorway
  19. Telecommunication
  20. Man Made
  21. I Ran
  22. (It’s Not Me) Talking

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com