Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Full list of 2013 CMA Award nominees revealed

Kacey Musgraves and Taylor Swift top the list of final nominees for The 47th Annual CMA Awards with six nominations each. The reigning CMA Female Vocalist Miranda Lambert and Entertainer and Male Vocalist of the Year Blake Shelton each received five nominations (Lambert received three individual nominations and an additional two with Pistol Annies). Florida Georgia Line and Keith Urban each received four nominations for “Country Music’s Biggest Night.”

The 47th Annual CMA Awards will be hosted for the sixth time by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood and broadcast live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Wednesday, November 6th from 8-11 pm ET/PT on the ABC Television Network.

For the eighth time, the announcement of the final nominees in five of the 12 CMA Awards categories was made live on ABC News’ Good Morning America with Sheryl Crow and Florida Georgia Line delivering the news from the heart of New York City’s Times Square. They then went to the Best Buy Theater to announce the finalists in the remaining seven categories during a press conference that was made available across the world via live stream at

Musgraves, who is a first-time nominee in 2013, has six nominations spanning several categories including those where she will be competing against herself for voters’ attention. She is nominated for Female Vocalist and New Artist of the Year; and picked up two more nominations for Album of the Year for Same Trailer Different Park and Single of the Year for “Merry Go ‘Round,” which she produced with Luke Laird and Shane McAnally. In the Song of the Year category (which is presented to songwriters) she is nominated twice, once for “Merry Go ‘Round” with songwriters Josh Osborne and McAnally and for Lambert’s hit “Mama’s Broken Heart” with songwriters Brandy Clark and McAnally.

Swift is no stranger to CMA voters and received another six nominations this year including Entertainer of the Year; Female Vocalist of the Year; Album of the Year for Red, which was produced by Jeff Bhasker, Scott Borchetta, Nathan Chapman, Dann Huff, Jacknife Lee, Max Martin, Shellback, Butch Walker, Dan Wilson and Swift; and three nominations for “Highway Don’t Care” with Tim McGraw and Urban for Single, Musical Event, and Music Video of the Year. Swift now has 21 CMA Awards nominations and seven wins including her first in 2007 for the Horizon Award (now New Artist of the Year) and two for Entertainer of the Year (2009, 2011), which ties her with Barbara Mandrell for wins in that category by a female artist.

Shelton was close behind with five nominations, including Entertainer; Male Vocalist; Album of the Year for Based on a True Story (produced by Scott Hendricks); and Music Video (directed by Trey Fanjoy) and Musical Event of the Year for “Boys ‘Round Here” featuring Pistol Annies (Lambert, Ashley Monroe, and Angaleena Presley), who make their debut as nominees this year.

Winners of The 47th Annual CMA Awards will be determined in a final round of voting by eligible voting members of the Country Music Association. CMA Awards balloting is officiated by the international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. The third and final ballot will be emailed to CMA members Thursday, October 10th. Voting for the CMA Awards final ballot ends Monday, October 28th at 5 pm CT.

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by more than 7,000 industry professional members of CMA, which was formed in 1958 as the first trade organization to promote an individual genre of music. The first CMA Awards Banquet and Show was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast for the first time – making it the longest-running, annual music awards program on network television. The CMA Awards moved to ABC in 2006, where it will remain through 2021.

Tickets for The 47th Annual CMA Awards go on sale to the public Saturday, September 14th at 10 am CT. Tickets can be purchased at or Ticketmaster outlets; by calling (800) 745-3000; or at the Bridgestone Arena Box Office, located at 501 Broadway (corner of Fifth Avenue and Broadway, Nashville). Ticket prices for the CMA Awards start at $110 for Upper Level seating. Ticket prices include tax, but exclude applicable service fees. Purchase tickets early for the best available seats. The CMA Awards have sold out in advance the past four years.

The 47th Annual CMA Awards is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer,Paul Miller is the Director, and David Wild is the writer. The special will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Entertainer of the Year

Taylor Swift
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Blake Shelton
George Strait

Single of the Year

“Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line
“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
“Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert
“Merry Go Round” – Kacey Musgraves
“Wagon Wheel” – Darius Rucker

Album of the Year

“Based on a True Story” – Blake Shelton
“Blown Away” – Carrie Underwood
“Red” – Taylor Swift
“Same Trailer Different Park” – Kacey Musgraves
“Tornado” – Little Big Town

Song of the Year

“I Drive Your Truck” – Lee Brice
“Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert
“Merry Go Round” – Kacey Musgraves
“Pontoon” – Little Big Town
“Wagon Wheel” – Darius Rucker

Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelly Clarkson
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year

Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year

Big & Rich
Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
The Civil Wars
Thompson Square

Musical Event of the Year

“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton feat. Pistol Annies
“Cruise” – Florida Georgia Line with Nelly
“Don’t Rush” – Kelly Clarkson feat. Vince Gill
“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
“The Only Way I Know” – Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church

Musician of the Year

Brant Mason – Guitar
Dan Huff – Guitar
Mac McAnally – Guitar
Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar
Sam Bush – Mandolin

Music Video of the Year

“Blown Away” – Carrie Underwood
“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton feat. Piston Annies
“Downtown” – Lady Antebellum
“Highway Don’t Care”- Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
“Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert

New Artist of the Year

Lee Brice
Florida Georgia Line
Kacey Musgraves
Brett Eldredge
Kip Moore

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *