“Temptation” is new track from project

Country star Gary Allan has announced his long-awaited new album, Ruthless, available June 25th. The California native marks his return to the spotlight with a stunning 13 track album produced by Mark Wright, Tony Brown, Greg Droman, Jay Joyce, and Allan himself. The songwriting shines, setting the tone for a body of work that feels engaging and fresh. The superb instrumentation is a stand-out of the record which adds a layer of complexity and appeal, drawing from Allan’s deep-rooted influences of the ‘80s and ‘90s. Allan’s unique storytelling coupled with his artistic nature masterfully ties the project together into his best work to date.

“This is a montage of everything I have done since my last album,” Allan says. “It’s what I love. I remain influenced by the ‘90s — as well as by the ‘80s. Twenty-six tracks were cut for this album. Then I went back to the studio and recorded three or four more tracks. Then I returned for two more. From each of these many sessions, I stripped out the cool stuff that I wanted on the record.”

Allan announced the project on social media on Thursday (May 6th) during a special live stream appearance from House of Blues Studios in Nashville. During the live stream, Allan gave his fans a first listen to his new music including the smoldering lead track, “Temptation,” which is now available. Allan dropped the brand new merch collection that can be purchased with the album pre-order, including exclusive t-shirts, hats, vinyl, and more on his website at ruthless.garyallan.com.


1. Temptation (Written by Nicolle Galyon, Chase McGill and Jon Nite)
2. Waste Of A Whiskey Drink (Written by Josh Kear, Michael Hardy and Mark Holman)
3. Till It Felt Like You* (Written by Kyle Jacobs, Joe Leathers and Matt Warren)
4. Slide (Written by Ross Ellis, Alex Kline and Michael Whitworth)
5. Pretty Damn Close* (Written by Gary Allan, Sarah Buxton, Rodney Clawson and Matt Warren)
6. High As I’ve Ever Been* (Written by Matt Warren, James Slater and Skip Black)
7. What I Can’t Talk About* (Written by Jim Beavers, Lindsay Rimes and Matt Rogers)
8. SEX (Written by Nicolle Galyon, Shane McAnally and Matt Jenkins)
9. Trouble Knows Trouble (Written by Steve Bogard, Jason Sever and John Edwards)
10. Ruthless (Written by Hillary Lindsey, busbee and Ryan Hurd)
11. Unfiltered** (Written by Blair Daly, Brad Warren and Brett Warren)
12. Little Glass Of Wine* (Written by Jesse Winchester)
13. The Hard Way* (Written by Matt Warren and Carey Ott)

Produced by Mark Wright and Tony Brown
*Produced by Gary Allan and Greg Droman
**Produced by Jay Joyce