Godsmack announces final studio album

Lighting Up The Sky due Feb 24th

Multi-platinum Grammy-nominated hard rock band Godsmack has officially announced details for their forthcoming eighth studio album Lighting Up The Sky, which will be out on CD and LP on February 24, 2023 via BMG. The album follows the band’s globally acclaimed and Gold-certified 2018 release, When Legends Rise, which achieved four No. 1 singles back-to-back.

Co-produced by vocalist/guitarist Sully Erna and Andrew “Mudrock” Murdock (Avenged Sevenfold, Alice Cooper), Lighting Up the Sky is a testament to powerful storytelling.

“​​I like when a record takes you on a journey from front to back. I realized there’s a whole story here about one man’s journey, the ups, and downs,” says Erna. “I believe it’s a story everyone will connect to, on a human level, because we’ve all gone through things in life.”

The album explores boy-meets-girl, obstacles in relationships, the polarized political climate and the state of the world, betrayal, connection, rebounds, and more. It also gets into the idea of legacy, what we leave behind — fitting for what Erna has noted as their final studio album.

Alongside the announcement, the band shares the album’s opening track “You And I.” The track follows the first single off the record, “Surrender,” which has garnered over five million streams and is currently No. 1 at active rock radio.

With over 20 years of chart-topping success, Godsmack has cemented themselves as 21st century hard rock titans. To date, they’ve accomplished a staggering 11 No. 1 singles at mainstream rock radio and have achieved 20 Top 10 hits at the format, the most of any act since February 1999. Additionally, they’ve enjoyed four Grammy nominations and were named Billboard Music Award’s Rock Artist of the Year in 2001. The band has sold more than 20 million records across seven studio albums.

The Massachusetts-bred quartet of Erna, guitarist Tony Rombola, bassist Robbie Merrill, and drummer Shannon Larkin take a victory lap with their forthcoming eighth studio album, dropping one more classic album as they ascend into the celebratory portion of their career.


  1. You And I
  2. Red White & Blue
  3. Surrender
  4. What About Me
  5. Truth
  6. Hell’s Not Dead
  7. Soul On Fire
  8. Let’s Go!
  9. Best Of Times
  10. Growing Old
  11. Lighting Up The Sky

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com