Grant Hart announces new album, tour dates

Grant Hart will be releasing his new double album The Argument on July 22nd, according to a press release from his new record label Domino.

Hart is best known as the drummer/singer/songwriter of the iconic 1980s alternative-rock band Hüsker Dü, where — along with guitarist/songwriter Bob Mould and bassist Greg Norton — Hart released classic albums like Zen Arcade and New Day Rising.  After Hüsker Dü broke up in 1988, Hart began a solo career with the album Intolerance, and then formed the band Nova Mob before resuming his solo career again in 1998.

The Argument is a concept album about Milton’s Paradise Lost, with the idea partially originating with Hart’s friend and esteemed author, William S. Burroughs and his story “Lost Paradise.”

In a recent interview with The Music Universe, Hart said “Burroughs provided me with methods to find words and ways to unlock ideas. He was a fine gentleman.  William’s “Lost Paradise” served as a motivational force as well as an inspiration.

The size of Paradise Lost is so immense that a quadruple album would not have been enough,” Hart added. “Everything in The Argument takes place in the Milton version, but I could not possibly include everything from Paradise Lost. First I deleted all of the religion.”

Two tracks — “Is the Sky the Limit?” and “Letting Me Out” — have been made available for streaming.  The production on “Is the Sky the Limit” sounds more elaborate than the garage psychedelia of Hart’s last album Hot Wax, while “Letting Me Out” has swagger similar to Buddy Holly’s “Peggy Sue.”

In addition to releasing his new album, Hart will also be visiting Ireland and London along with his band The Burn/Burning.  No US dates have been announced, but “extensive touring” with a full band has been promised.  Hart is also the subject of a upcoming documentary by Gorman Bechard, entitled Every Everything.

CD | 2 LP

  1.  Out Of Chaos
  2. Morningstar
  3. Awake, Arise!
  4. If We Have The Will
  5. I Will Never See My Home
  6. I Am Death
  7. Sin
  8. Letting Me Out
  9. Is The Sky The Limit?
  10. Golden Chain
  11. So Far From Heaven
  12. Shine, Shine, Shine
  13. It Isn’t Love
  14. War In Heaven
  15. Glorious
  16. (It Was A) Most Disturbing Dream
  17. Underneath The Apple Tree
  18. The Argument
  19. Run For The Wilderness
  20. For Those Too High Aspiring

Tour Dates:

All Ireland, unless specified.

May 31 – Cork- Stout Fest 2013
June 1 – Clonmel – O’Keeffe’s
June 2 – Galway – The Townhouse
June 7 – Sligo – McGarrigle’s
June 8 – Dundalk – Spirit Store
June 9t – Derry – Sandino’s
June 13 – Belfast – Voodoo
June 14 – Kilkenny – Cleere’s
June 15 – Dingle – McCarthy’s
June 16 – Myrtleville – Pine Lodge (afternoon)
June 16 – Clonakilty – DeBarra’s (evening)
June 18th – London, UK – Water Rats

Author: Ryan King

Ryan King began covering music in 2004 for the Arrow, the student newspaper at Southeast Missouri State University, eventually becoming Managing Editor at that publication. He is also the former Music Editor for OFF! Magazine, an alternative publication published by the Southeast Missourian. Ryan began writing for The Music Universe when launched, but has stepped away to focus on law. He may appear from time to time for reviews.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *