Grant Hart (ex-Husker Du) to release new album on July 22, sets tour dates


Grant Hart will be releasing his new double album The Argument on July 22, according to a press release from his new record label Domino.


Hart is best known as the drummer/singer/songwriter of the iconic 1980s alternative-rock band Hüsker Dü, where — along with guitarist/songwriter Bob Mould and bassist Greg Norton — Hart released classic albums like Zen Arcade and New Day Rising.  After Hüsker Dü broke up in 1988, Hart began a solo career with the album Intolerance, and then formed the band Nova Mob before resuming his solo career again in 1998.

The Argument is a concept album about Milton’s Paradise Lost, with the idea partially originating with Hart’s friend and esteemed author, William S. Burroughs and his story “Lost Paradise.”

In a recent interview with The Music Universe, Hart said “Burroughs provided me with methods to find words and ways to unlock ideas. He was a fine gentleman.  William’s “Lost Paradise” served as a motivational force as well as an inspiration.

The size of Paradise Lost is so immense that a quadruple album would not have been enough,” Hart added. “Everything in The Argument takes place in the Milton version, but I could not possibly include everything from Paradise Lost. First I deleted all of the religion.”

Two tracks — “Is the Sky the Limit?” and “Letting Me Out” — have been made available for streaming.  The production on “Is the Sky the Limit” sounds more elaborate than the garage psychedelia of Hart’s last album Hot Wax, while “Letting Me Out” has swagger similar to Buddy Holly’s “Peggy Sue.”

In addition to releasing his new album, Hart will also be visiting Ireland and London (see the tour dates at the end) along with his band The Burn/Burning.  No US dates have been announced, but “extensive touring” with a full band has been promised.  Hart is also the subject of an upcoming documentary by Gorman Bechard, entitled “Every Everything.

Tour Dates (All in Ireland unless specified):

May 31st                      Cork                            Stout Fest 2013

June 1st                       Clonmel                       O’Keeffe’s

June 2nd                      Galway                        The Townhouse

June 7th                       Sligo                            McGarrigle’s

June 8th                       Dundalk                      Spirit Store

June 9th                       Derry                           Sandino’s

June 13th                     Belfast                         Voodoo

June 14th                     Kilkenny                     Cleere’s

June 15th                     Dingle                         McCarthy’s

June 16th                     Myrtleville                   Pine Lodge (afternoon)

Clonakilty                   DeBarra’s (evening)

June 18th                     London, UK               Water Rats

The Argument tracklisting:

  1. Out Of Chaos
  2. Morningstar
  3. Awake, Arise!
  4. If We Have The Will
  5. I Will Never See My Home
  6. I Am Death
  7. Sin
  8. Letting Me Out
  9. Is The Sky The Limit?
  10. Golden Chain
  11. So Far From Heaven
  12. Shine, Shine, Shine
  13. It Isn’t Love
  14. War In Heaven
  15. Glorious
  16. (It Was A) Most Disturbing Dream
  17. Underneath The Apple Tree
  18. The Argument
  19. Run For The Wilderness
  20. For Those Too High Aspiring


Ryan King

Author: Ryan King

Ryan King began covering music in 2004 for the Arrow, the student newspaper at Southeast Missouri State University, eventually becoming Managing Editor at that publication. He is also the former Music Editor for OFF! Magazine, an alternative publication published by the Southeast Missourian. Ryan began writing for The Music Universe in 2013. He currently resides in central Missouri.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *