Grateful Dead announces three night 50th Anniversary reunion concerts

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Grateful Dead, the group  has announced “Fare Thee Well – Celebrating 50 Years of the Grateful Dead,” a three night series of reunion concerts in Chicago.

Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh, and Bob Weir will reunite at Chicago’s Soldier Field, nearly 20 years to the day of the last-ever Grateful Dead concert with Jerry Garcia, which took place at the same venue, for three nights only – July 3rd, 4th, and 5th, 2015 – and mark the original members’ last-ever performance together.

The band will be joined by Phish’s Trey Anastasio on guitar, Jeff Chimenti on keyboards and Bruce Hornsby on piano, and will perform two sets of music each night.

In the tradition of the original Grateful Dead Ticketing Service, tickets will be available via a first come first serve mail order system starting on January 20th, followed by an online pre-sale through Dead Online Ticketing February 12th and will be available online to the general public on February 14th via Ticketmaster.

Reserve seating ranges from $59.50-$199.50 with general admission to a pit directly in front of the stage running $99.50 each.

Several VIP and Travel Packages are also being offered to enhance the concert experience. VIP packages contents vary, but can include a single ticket to one or all three of the shows in the lower reserved seating section or GA pit, a limited edition, screen printed Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary event poster signed (or unsigned) by Phil Lesh, Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann (1 per night), one copy of “Fare Thee Well” photobook by Jay Blakesberg, VIP entrance, VIP lounge and more.

The band is also set to release The Best Of Grateful Dead on March 31st. The 2 CD, 32 track collection is newly remastered from the original analog tapes by David Glasser. The set will feature music from every Dead studio album and will be arranged chronologically to reflect the evolution of the group’s sound and its membership across more than two decades. The set will also contain the rare two and a half minute single version of “Dark Star” and the 16 minute “Terrapin Station.”

2 CD


CD 1:

1. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion) [2:09]
2. Cream Puff War [2:28]
3. Born Cross-Eyed [2:04]
4. Dark Star (Single Version) [2:41]
5. St. Stephen [4:26]
6. China Cat Sunflower [3:40]
7. Uncle John’s Band [4:42]
8. Easy Wind [4:59]
9. Casey Jones [4:24]
10. Truckin’ [5:03]
11. Box Of Rain [5:17]
12. Sugar Magnolia [3:17]
13. Friend Of The Devil [3:21]
14. Ripple [4:10]
15. Eyes Of The World [5:16]
16. Unbroken Chain [6:45]
17. Scarlet Begonias [4:19]
18. The Music Never Stopped [4:35]
19. Estimated Prophet [5:35]

CD 2:

1. Terrapin Station [16:10]
2. Shakedown Street [4:59]
3. I Need A Miracle [3:36]
4. Fire On The Mountain [3:46]
5. Feel Like A Stranger [5:06]
6. Far From Me [3:39]
7. Touch Of Grey [5:47]
8. Hell In A Bucket [5:35]
9. Throwing Stones [7:18]
10. Black Muddy River [5:58]
11. Blow Away [6:09]
12. Foolish Heart [5:10]
13. Standing On The Moon [5:20]

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.