‘Hairspray LIVE!’ soundtrack detailed for Dec 2nd

Masterworks Broadway/Epic Records will release Hairspray LIVE! Original Soundtrack Of The NBC Television Event the companion album to NBC’s broadcast of Hairspray Live! which will air on Wednesday December 7th at 8 pm ET/PT.

The all-star cast features Harvey Fierstein, Jennifer Hudson, Ariana Grande, Kristin Chenoweth, Martin Short, Derek Hough, Dove Cameron, Garrett Clayton, Ephraim Sykes, Shahadi Wright Joseph, exciting newcomer Maddie Baillio, and Special Guest Stars Billy Eichner, Sean Hayes, Andrea Martin, and Rosie O’Donnell.

Hairspray LIVE! Original Soundtrack of the NBC Television Event will include studio recordings for all of the musical numbers that are performed by the cast members in the live broadcast.

In Hairspray Live! teenager Tracy Turnblad’s dream is to dance on The Corny Collins Show, a local TV program. When against all odds Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight and meets a colorful array of characters, including the resident dreamboat, Link; the ambitious mean girl, Amber; an African-American boy she meets in detention, Seaweed; and his mother, Motormouth Maybelle, the owner of a local record store. Tracy’s mother is the indomitable Edna, and she eventually encourages Tracy on her campaign to integrate the all-white “Corny Collins Show.”

Emmy award-winning live television director Alex Rudzinski (Dancing with the Stars) will join Tony-winning director Kenny Leon (The Wiz Live!). Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning Chicago, The Wiz Live!, the upcoming Bye Bye Birdie Live! and the live television production of the Broadway play A Few Good Men) serve as executive producers of Hairspray Live! Harvey Fierstein will also provide a new teleplay and Tony winner Jerry Mitchell (Kinky Boots, On Your Feet) will serve as choreographer for the live production with music and lyrics by Tony winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (Smash, the upcoming feature Mary Poppins Returns and the Broadway-bound Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). The soundtrack is licensed through the NBC Universal Television Consumer Products Group.


1. Good Morning Baltimore – Maddie Baillio
2. The Nicest Kids in Town – Hairspray LIVE! Ensemble
3. Mama, I’m a Big Girl Now – Maddie Baillio
4. I Can Hear the Bells – Maddie Baillio
5. (The Legend of) Miss Baltimore Crabs – Kristin Chenoweth
6. Ladies’ Choice – Hairspray LIVE! Ensemble
7. It Takes Two – Maddie Baillio
8. Velma’s Revenge – Kristin Chenoweth
9. Welcome to the 60’s – Sean Hayes
10. Run and Tell That – Shahadi Wright Joseph
11. Big, Blonde and Beautiful – Jennifer Hudson
12. (You’re) Timeless to Me – Martin Short
13. Good Morning Baltimore (Reprise) – Maddie Baillio
14. Without Love – Maddie Baillio
15. I Know Where I’ve Been – Jennifer Hudson
16. (It’s) Hairspray – Hairspray LIVE! Ensemble
17. Cooties – Hairspray LIVE! Ensemble
18. You Can’t Stop the Beat – Martin Short
19. Come So Far (Got So Far to Go) – Jennifer Hudson

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com